Sine CPU usage 45%

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue May 07, 2013 5:04 pm

CPU usage goes up to 45% using one Sine behavior (i.e angle, or size) on 1 object.

Is that normal?
Any tips to lower it?

thaxs
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Tue May 07, 2013 5:11 pm

There's no way the sine behavior could possibly be responsible for using so much CPU. It may be the difference between nothing moving at all (so the engine stops rendering entirely, and basically sits idle), and actually rendering (when things are moving, and it's actually working to render the game every frame). Post a .capx if you think that doesn't explain it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518

Post » Tue May 07, 2013 6:50 pm

CAPX

Tested on:

Opera 12.12
Windows 7 32bits

Safari 5.1.7
Windows XP

Safari 5.1.7
Windows 7 32 bitsCalifornia2013-05-07 18:50:40
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Tue May 07, 2013 7:28 pm

For me, your .capx is showing 1% cpu utilisation.

You should maybe check other browsers also, as AFAIK Safari for Windows is no longer being developed.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,841
Reputation: 48,283

Post » Tue May 07, 2013 8:29 pm

you get 1% on Opera or Safari?

Safari is from 2012, I'm not talking about this working on IE4 or even IE6.
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Tue May 07, 2013 9:13 pm

Tested on Firefox 20.0.1.

Safari hasn't been updated for over a year - that means it's way, way behind most other browser html5 implementation. I don't understand why you'd want to use it, but each to their own.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,841
Reputation: 48,283

Post » Tue May 07, 2013 11:39 pm

[QUOTE=zenox98] Tested on Firefox 20.0.1.
[/QUOTE] I never mentioned having issues on Firefox.

[QUOTE=zenox98]Safari hasn't been updated for over a year[/QUOTE] Incorrect, almost a year.
At least get your facts straight.
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Wed May 08, 2013 1:29 am

To me, it's using 6-8% in Chrome, to be honest with you, you should try with Chrome or Firefox, these are guru browsers of HTML5 technology.

B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,052
Reputation: 22,638

Post » Wed May 08, 2013 1:53 am

it's probably the way safari is rendering the page. since the fps for me is at 45fps while chrome it's 60fps
B
40
S
10
G
5
Posts: 102
Reputation: 6,602

Post » Thu May 09, 2013 3:56 pm

Can this be moved to bugs? Kyatric/Ashley/Tom

thx
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pandadoor, Sotir31 and 29 guests