Snap to Grid issue [r173&r178 on Windows 8.1 Pro x64]

Report Construct 2 bugs here.

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:31 am

Problem Description
When activated, the Snap to Grid function doesn't let you change the Width more tan once and the default 32 value in the Height field can't be changed.

Attach a Capx
Snap to grid issue.jpg


Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Step 1 Create a New Project.
  • Step 2 Click the 'View' tab.
  • Step 3 Enable the 'Snap to Grid' box.
  • Step 4 Open the 'View' tab again.
  • Step 5 Replace the value for Width with another one randomly.
  • Step 6 Replace the value for Height with another one randomly.
  • Step 7 Repeat Step 5.

Observed Result
Width can't be changed more tan once and the default 32 value in the Height field can't be changed.

Expected Result
Width and Height values can be changed multiple times.

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 8.1 Pro x64 VL (currently updated)

Construct 2 Version ID
r173 64bit free edition & r178 64bit free edition (tried on both without success)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
3
Posts: 2
Reputation: 179

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:38 am

The clunkiness of that thing is known for quite a while, you can change them by setting the value then click (or spam click) the layout, it's not consistent but it works.
B
28
S
8
G
4
Posts: 553
Reputation: 4,914

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2014 7:56 am

This bug has been around since the dawn of times
The trick to deal with it is to change the height, then click back in the width box and press enter
B
83
S
22
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,219

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:37 pm

Sorry, it's a bug in our UI library, and I'm not sure we can fix it. The workaround is to pin the ribbon (so it doesn't keep auto-hiding), then type in a value and press enter.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,464

Post » Tue Sep 09, 2014 4:41 pm

OK, thank you all for the quick reply! I'm trying Construct2 for the first time, so I didn't know there was a trick to it. I made it following your advice, thank you again!
B
3
Posts: 2
Reputation: 179


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Niespor and 0 guests