So you can't group conditions in an OR block?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:56 pm

I've tried searching but couldn't find anything about this. What I mean is instead of this:

Condition A
OR
Condition B
OR
Condition C

... can you set it up like this:

Condition A
OR
(Condition B
AND
Condition C)

Unless there's some really obscure method of doing it, I'm guessing it's a no. It would be really helpful to have, though.
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,117

Post » Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:27 pm

Not sure if it helps but I think you can have:

Condition A
AND
Condition C
OR
CONDITION B
AND
CONDITION C

by adding a sub-event.superwifibattler2013-02-01 15:28:47
B
12
S
2
G
4
Posts: 78
Reputation: 3,332

Post » Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:40 pm

We reviewed this type of feature when implementing OR and decided it would be very complex both to implement and use in the event sheet.

You can work around it by using functions, e.g.

Condition A: call function F
Condition B OR C: call function F
On F: do actions
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,772

Post » Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:44 pm

Yeah, I guess functions work too. Little less intuitive, but I figured it was probably complex behind the scenes. Thanks for the response!
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,117


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests