So you can't group conditions in an OR block?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:56 pm

I've tried searching but couldn't find anything about this. What I mean is instead of this:

Condition A
OR
Condition B
OR
Condition C

... can you set it up like this:

Condition A
OR
(Condition B
AND
Condition C)

Unless there's some really obscure method of doing it, I'm guessing it's a no. It would be really helpful to have, though.
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:27 pm

Not sure if it helps but I think you can have:

Condition A
AND
Condition C
OR
CONDITION B
AND
CONDITION C

by adding a sub-event.superwifibattler2013-02-01 15:28:47
B
11
S
2
G
4
Posts: 78
Reputation: 3,292

Post » Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:40 pm

We reviewed this type of feature when implementing OR and decided it would be very complex both to implement and use in the event sheet.

You can work around it by using functions, e.g.

Condition A: call function F
Condition B OR C: call function F
On F: do actions
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:44 pm

Yeah, I guess functions work too. Little less intuitive, but I figured it was probably complex behind the scenes. Thanks for the response!
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 99Instances2Go, jul, TELLES0808 and 21 guests