Solid only for certain characters?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:41 am

I've run into a problem with my game design, I need a block which is solid for only certain characters. So one character can jump on it, whilst the other character can just go through it.

I partly did this by just disabling/enabling the solid property of the block using detectors on the characters, however this doesn't work very well if both characters collide with the block.

Can anybody think of a better way of doing this? A bit stumped myself!
B
22
S
6
G
10
Posts: 118
Reputation: 8,005

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:21 pm

There is an option for this in the physics behaviour, although it seemed pretty buggy when I tried it a few months ago. Seems fine now though, will that do the trick?

Made a quick test:Solid_OnlyCertainChars.capx
B
27
S
8
G
8
Posts: 903
Reputation: 8,452

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:38 pm

Thanks =) Unfortunately my characters are set up to use platform behaviour and, after a quick test, physics and platforms behaviour do not play well together! Shame though, as that's the exact sort of behaviour I need, just for platform =/

Any other suggestions?
B
22
S
6
G
10
Posts: 118
Reputation: 8,005

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:40 pm

I actually don't think there is any way to do this at the moment.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:47 pm

Hmm, that's what I fear!
B
22
S
6
G
10
Posts: 118
Reputation: 8,005

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:58 pm

I had the same problem, have no idea how to get rid of that. A function like "Stop Collision with Solid" for Platform behavior is cool.hylists2012-06-06 12:59:04
B
19
S
5
Posts: 51
Reputation: 1,883

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:15 pm

Hmm, sounds like yet another thing to add to @Ashley 's ever growing to-do list =P Would be a nice feature to have though!
B
22
S
6
G
10
Posts: 118
Reputation: 8,005

Post » Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:04 pm

You can duplicate the level without certain blocks offscreen. Also duplicate the player that you want to be able to move through the blocks. Disable the platform behavior for the player in the original level and enable the platform behavior for the duplicate.   Then position the original from the duplicate.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5426011/examples12/Solid_for_one_not_the_other.capx

B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,746
Reputation: 40,755

Post » Thu Jun 07, 2012 5:42 pm

That's a pretty clever way of doing it, never occured to me! Thanks, I'll give it a shot =)
B
22
S
6
G
10
Posts: 118
Reputation: 8,005


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cotteux, DiabloOvermind, Skebab, spcsmrf, Yahoo [Bot] and 20 guests