[SOLVED] Isometric/Top-Down Moving Platforms

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:54 pm

Hello!
I am wondering how I'd go about making top down platforms work. My character is using the 8 Direction and Custom Movement behaviors (for some collisions).
I can't figure out how to get the player to stay with the platform and move around on it while the platform moves. Any help is appreciated!!!!

Here's a vid on what I'm talking about
https://youtu.be/nGKUXRDOM54?t=9m26s
https://youtu.be/nGKUXRDOM54?t=2m46s
Last edited by SpookySkeleton on Thu Jul 07, 2016 10:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.
B
24
S
7
G
1
Posts: 36
Reputation: 2,049

Post » Thu Jul 07, 2016 12:04 am

I'd suggest a parallax layer.
Move the player to the parallax layer when it changes levels.
You can alter the all the layers parallax at runtime.
Image ImageImage
B
172
S
50
G
183
Posts: 8,443
Reputation: 115,605

Post » Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:46 am

Hey @newt !!
Thanks for the reply, although that isn't really what I'm looking for. I'm looking for help with the math involved as this is a big learning experience for me.

Here's the cap so you can see a few things I've tried (They aren't very good lol). I Just can't get my head around it... :oops:
https://mega.nz/#!jMJ1FQTA!Qzz1ql-eaTFp ... AF7_AuDKhk
B
24
S
7
G
1
Posts: 36
Reputation: 2,049

Post » Thu Jul 07, 2016 7:02 pm

B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Thu Jul 07, 2016 10:16 pm

@99Instances2Go
99Instances2Go wrote:Why Classic ? Just wondering.

Hahaha Good question. I'll most likely make the switch eventually. I didn't like the idea of using the browser window when C2 first came out. It seems like the switch is inevitable, though. However, I'm still learning all this logic magic. I'll figure it out one day, though. I keep trying to make little steps without bugging the forum too much lol

Thanks so much for the help, I'm very impressed!! Just the thing I was looking for.
Also, thank you newt for shedding light on an alternative solution.
B
24
S
7
G
1
Posts: 36
Reputation: 2,049

Post » Fri Jul 08, 2016 9:37 am

I do understand avoiding browsers, they are a PITA.

But ! When i mess with Classic (as i did for this), i see and feel how much C2 envolved to something awesome compared to Classic. Is there a way to push you to try it ?
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Sat Jul 09, 2016 9:56 pm

@99Instances2Go

I think you've convinced me, to be honest. I have been thinking about switching for awhile. Unfortunately, I am the deepest I've ever gotten into a game with my current CC project. But I promise after I'm done with it, I will make the switch to C2. I just can't justify moving everything over to a different engine when I haven't run into any substantial problems (knock on wood lol) I do realize that I'm going to need to make the switch. Thank you for the advice.

Thank you again and I'll probably have more questions in the future :D
B
24
S
7
G
1
Posts: 36
Reputation: 2,049


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests