[Solved] Using WebSocket plug-in: Node.js/Socket.io/Apache

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:04 am

Back,

I wonder if we should use "Server" or "WebSocket" ... Need to go further in this.
B
11
S
2
Posts: 69
Reputation: 819

Post » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:47 am

I have my own vps somehwere, I installed the nodejs server and expanded it with a couple of packages.
socket.io, node-mysql, webrtc.

It was a bit prepperation for the upcoming webrtc upgrade to construct 2.
I managed to get video and voice chat working with somesimpel examples straight from a couple html pages.

Also made a couple simple server apps for some of my games making use if the room techniques.

VPS is like 10$ a months. :) great to experiment with.
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,567

Post » Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 am

Hi lennaert :)

Nice to hear some news from you on this topic of networking. Do you have "public demo" on your VPS than we can try together ?
Do you have multiplayer games playable online ?

I've got a little dedicated server (10€ a month too) where I host a website, but as soon as I've got something working, I will put it online.
By the way, with the "ws" WebSocket server for node js, I managed to use the WS plug-in of C2 and communicate between clients \o/ I'll certainly make a tutorial out of this, as it could interest beginners in networking.
B
11
S
2
Posts: 69
Reputation: 819

Post » Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:59 am

TankRacer

Its based on socket.io.
I build this in december somewhere.

The Battle arenas work nice.
Regular multiplayer was giving some hassle with positioning.
But since then webrtc was making its way to construct 2, so I figured I wait it out.

:)
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,567

Post » Wed Feb 26, 2014 4:36 pm

Message: jhice can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
lennaert wrote:http://lennaerthohe.nl/TankRacer/index.html TankRacer

Its based on socket.io.
I build this in december somewhere.

The Battle arenas work nice.
Regular multiplayer was giving some hassle with positioning.
But since then webrtc was making its way to construct 2, so I figured I wait it out.

:)

Tried it, but alone ^^ Will try it with a friend...
B
11
S
2
Posts: 69
Reputation: 819

Post » Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:32 am

Thank you for posting you solution, it was very useful
B
7
Posts: 33
Reputation: 351

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DiabloOvermind and 12 guests