[SOLVED] What's your game CPU at?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:19 am

I opened up a few different games and they are around 0-1% CPU usage.
My game compiled through Ludei takes up 30% CPU and End button is red on Android.

What are your CPUs at and how can I get it lower?
Last edited by jook00 on Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Check out my games on Google Play:
BEAST ATTACK (1,000,000+ downloads!)
ZOMBIE BASH (Android) (Launched Feb 17)
ZOMBIE BASH (iOS) (Launched March 17)
B
54
S
18
G
2
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,582

Post » Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:28 am

My game, Shards, is currently at 35-85% (depending on the number of units/level objects)... on desktop. And it's nowhere near complete. I'm trying to optimize it as much as possible, but this is concerning me if the game is even viable in the way I imagined it.
Moderator
B
94
S
33
G
33
Posts: 3,006
Reputation: 27,749

Post » Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:51 am

This is a bit concerning for me as its killing battery life on phones. Has anyone successfully had mobile game less than 10%?
Check out my games on Google Play:
BEAST ATTACK (1,000,000+ downloads!)
ZOMBIE BASH (Android) (Launched Feb 17)
ZOMBIE BASH (iOS) (Launched March 17)
B
54
S
18
G
2
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,582

Post » Thu Apr 10, 2014 11:34 am

Please do not spam the forum with the same topic. I closed the following threads:

https://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=147&t=101432
https://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=147&t=101416
https://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=147&t=101442

CPU usage uses less battery than the screen just being on with modern phones, and the runtime suspends when the game goes in to the background so it should use zero CPU in that case.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Thu Apr 10, 2014 2:38 pm

Thanks Ashley. And sorry for the spam. Ill keep this in mind for the future. Thanks!
Check out my games on Google Play:
BEAST ATTACK (1,000,000+ downloads!)
ZOMBIE BASH (Android) (Launched Feb 17)
ZOMBIE BASH (iOS) (Launched March 17)
B
54
S
18
G
2
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,582

Post » Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm

So I did a test by having one sprite and no events, ran it through Ludei, and installed it on my Android. The CPU was still around 30% so that throws optimizing my code out the window to reduce CPU.
Check out my games on Google Play:
BEAST ATTACK (1,000,000+ downloads!)
ZOMBIE BASH (Android) (Launched Feb 17)
ZOMBIE BASH (iOS) (Launched March 17)
B
54
S
18
G
2
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,582

Post » Thu Apr 10, 2014 5:25 pm

The measurement Construct 2 makes should be regarded as a guess - it's based on timer measurements on one thread and the real usage could be significantly different. It's only really useful to determine low/mid/high usage, and 30% is low.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:49 am

Oh, I was referring mainly to Ludei and what it does to CPU. Construct's performance and CPU is good. Its only when compiling through Ludei where it seems to create CPU issues.
Check out my games on Google Play:
BEAST ATTACK (1,000,000+ downloads!)
ZOMBIE BASH (Android) (Launched Feb 17)
ZOMBIE BASH (iOS) (Launched March 17)
B
54
S
18
G
2
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,582

Post » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:35 pm

I figured out a solution. I compiled with 1.4.7 and CPU issues went away. Phew!
Check out my games on Google Play:
BEAST ATTACK (1,000,000+ downloads!)
ZOMBIE BASH (Android) (Launched Feb 17)
ZOMBIE BASH (iOS) (Launched March 17)
B
54
S
18
G
2
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,582


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blue visionary, Lordshiva1948, OBLIVION and 17 guests