[SOLVED]2 instances of C2 open at the same time?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:41 pm

Hello World,

Is there any danger in having 2 instances of C2 open at the same time? One where I work in, and another where I consult a tutorial for example? Any chance of anything getting... "transferred" for lack of a better word, or bugs popping up, etc. Any chance of anything going wrong at all?

Thank you.
Last edited by VIKINGS on Thu Aug 06, 2015 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
21
S
11
G
6
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,335

Post » Mon Apr 06, 2015 8:05 pm

Should be fine. I've had three open at once in the past.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
21
G
231
Posts: 3,690
Reputation: 129,356

Post » Mon Apr 06, 2015 8:14 pm

It fine to do as they run as separate instances
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

Post » Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:05 pm

I do this all the time, never had a problem. Be careful though, because you can also open two projects in the same instance, which can lead to all kinds of confusion. Not even sure why that's a permitted behavior.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Tue Apr 07, 2015 8:17 pm

Ok, thank you very much guys.
B
21
S
11
G
6
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,335

Post » Tue Apr 07, 2015 11:41 pm

You can open two, three, four... but never five! NEVER FIVE.
(Just kidding)
B
33
S
9
G
3
Posts: 493
Reputation: 4,042

Post » Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:40 am

You can even copy/paste events from one window to another, assuming the same variables, objects, etc being referenced exist in both projects. Its super handy for restoring a broken mess from experimenting with your old working version.

As a super helpful tip, i ALWAYS (now) change the theme of the 'temporary' or 'reference' project to something dark / drastically different to my main 'WORKING' code... especially in the case of referencing between 2 versions of the same code, you dont want to get mixed up and start adding new features to your old version. Having a visual theme is the easiest way to identify which one is which since all the other stuff is almost identical. I learned this the hard way. :)
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Wed Apr 08, 2015 3:52 am

80bit wrote:As a super helpful tip, i ALWAYS (now) change the theme of the 'temporary' or 'reference' project to something dark / drastically different to my main 'WORKING' code... especially in the case of referencing between 2 versions of the same code, you dont want to get mixed up and start adding new features to your old version. Having a visual theme is the easiest way to identify which one is which since all the other stuff is almost identical. I learned this the hard way. :)


Oh wow...I like that idea a lot. Because...yeah, I've done that before. Then you really have a mess to sort out. :oops:

Thanks for sharing! :)
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests