[solved]Correctly use simulate controls

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Aug 30, 2013 6:23 pm

Hellooo,

Here is the capx.

Hold space to invert yourself *key for helping me*

Take a look,

When you try to move to the left (whilst inverted..) and then try to jump you can't.

Now do the same but to the right, it works.

What's up with that?

Thanks Sulli2013-08-31 14:46:48
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:45 am

WTF. interesting..
B
46
S
16
G
74
Posts: 2,088
Reputation: 44,185

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:19 am

Works fine for me. Pretty sure it's just your keyboard.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rollover_(key)MadFactory2013-08-31 05:23:38
Image
B
243
S
30
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,770

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 11:41 am

@MadFactory
I will read that entire wiki page, but I know it that "Rollover is the ability of a computer keyboard to correctly handle several simultaneous keystrokes" is possible on my laptop as it works in the opposite direction (Hold the right key and press up, whilst holding space!)

Edit: I will try mapping it to WAD now to see if that mapping works.

@plinkie Any thoughts? :S

Could it be worth bringing Ashley into this?Sulli2013-08-31 11:44:55
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 12:13 pm

with flip mode , i can use left and right with jump, no problem
B
38
S
13
G
4
Posts: 152
Reputation: 5,147

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 12:47 pm

@anata That's interesting.. what did you use flip mode as an alternative as? Gravity -1500??
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:00 pm

B
55
S
29
G
19
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,650

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:02 pm

@ramones

Yup, space+left+up doesn't work.. how weird...

Any way to fix it?
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:14 pm

Get a better keyboard. No, seriously, just avoid those key combinations. It's a common thing, many non-gaming keyboards are going to have that problem.
B
55
S
29
G
19
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,650

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:46 pm

@ramones laptop

I'll try a different combo such as WAD. Thanks for that ghost tester.

'Bug' solved I guess.
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: R0J0hound and 9 guests