[SOLVED][R106] Will not Start on Win7-64bit

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:22 am

Kernelbase.dll is a terror movie!!! Windows 7 ,,,,,,,,,,,,
B
11
S
4
G
3
Posts: 120
Reputation: 4,058

Post » Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:32 am

Updated ma ?indo?s, r106 works just fine.
No, not just fine, much finer than r105!
B
18
S
3
G
4
Posts: 46
Reputation: 3,873

Post » Fri Oct 12, 2012 5:02 am

You could try looking in the Windows Event Log. From the Computer icon on the desktop, or "Computer" from the Start Menu, right-click and choose Manage. From there you want System Tools -> Event Viewer -> Windows Logs -> Application. Errors should be pretty obvious, and there may be some more details you can post from there.

(Can also run: eventvwr.msc from command-line).blackhornet2012-10-12 05:08:13
ImageImageImage
B
67
S
19
G
124
Posts: 3,219
Reputation: 74,425

Post » Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:36 pm

This is a very mysterious problem for two reasons:
1) We mostly only changed javascript in r106, we made very few editor changes.
2) The error message looks incorrect, since it ought to report something like "The entry point 'foo' was not found", whereas there appears to be an empty space in the error message where that ought to be. This suggests it may be related to an OS issue or some kind of OS customisation.
I don't know what to do about this right now; any more information at all would be helpful, such as testing on a range of computers to see if there's anything in common between the computers it doesn't work on, checking the Windows Event Log like @blackhornet suggested, or trying to find any OS settings that affect it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,630

Post » Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:22 am

error: "Procedure entry point DecodePointer could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNEL32.dll."

dont know if it helps, but this is the same error someone gets when trying to start c2 on xp service pack1.

so maybe it has to do with installed or not installed service packs on win7 x64 ?

normaly what it says is that it tries to access pointers which are not present in your kernel. in many cases this would be an older kernel version.

B
4
S
1
G
4
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,649

Post » Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:52 am

Well, as I said, R105 works perfect and IMHO do not longer worry about. Let's see what happen with R107. We can start worrying then again
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:52 pm

@makedit - we don't support XP SP1, as listed in System Requirements. Only XP SP3 is supported - it's a free update.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,630

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:17 pm

Solved with R107
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:45 pm

@Weishaupt - that's odd, I didn't make any attempt to fix it in r107. Closing as a weird one-off...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,630

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:33 pm

R107 is working for me, too. So far, it's only in R106 that I get the "entry point not found" message.Blake2012-10-17 16:37:37
B
13
S
3
G
5
Posts: 6
Reputation: 3,392

PreviousNext

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests