[Solved+Tutorial] Make everything under an Object blury

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:55 pm

Heyho ;)

First things first: I know how Construct works and how to use effects ...

The question is, is this possible? And if yes, how?

Image

(Sidenote) This is only an example Image, the real thing is not isometric!

[EDIT:]
Found this, works very well for what i need to do! blur-mask-effect

But thanks anyway for the help, you guys are awesome :D

Here is a .capx with this Methode: CAPX (both objects are dragable)

[EDIT2:]
Btw.: You can polish you project with this technique!

Just add a new layer and set its properties to:
  • Background color - 0, 0, 0
  • Transparent - No
  • Effect - Screen
  • Effect - YOUR_EFFECTS
This way, your whole layout gets a set of effects ;)
Last edited by Kitsune42k on Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:04 am, edited 6 times in total.
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 74
Reputation: 3,435

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2016 8:19 pm

I would imagine using a combination of blur horizontal/vertical, along with a clipping mask. You have two layers with the background image, the one on top is blurred and the one below is not. Use the "destination in" blending mode on a helper sprite (clipping mask) to clip the blurred layer to only the section you want blurred, while the rest of the unblurred background shows below. On the layer with the blurred image and clipping mask helper sprite, you want to set the "Force own texture" property to yes.

I can't try it myself at the moment, so not sure if it works. Someone else might be able to contribute a better/simpler way.
Mistakes were made.
B
52
S
26
G
108
Posts: 1,606
Reputation: 61,133

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2016 8:32 pm

This would work, thx ;) but when you have objects between the background and the foreground object, this solution would break.
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 74
Reputation: 3,435

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:02 pm

Right, this would only work on a static image prepared... I'm not sure if there is a way to dynamically apply an effect mask to destination objects. Will experiment a bit when I can.
Mistakes were made.
B
52
S
26
G
108
Posts: 1,606
Reputation: 61,133

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:44 pm

Cool thx, I wait on you replay ;) Meanwhile i try it myself
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 74
Reputation: 3,435

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2016 10:09 pm

It is possible. Don't think this way is useful.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/e7za6gh4c8l8i ... .capx?dl=0

Both sprites have drag & drop.
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2016 10:23 pm

Sir? This is a very good idea!
Image

But DAMN is this complicated ... I just don't get how you done this :lol:

My goal is, to have basically a mask, that blurs everything beneath it. The objects doesn't have to be dragable, but it would be a cool bonus when they are.

[EDIT:]
Found this, works very well for what i need to do! blur-mask-effect

But thanks anyway for the help, you guys are awesome :D

Here is a .capx with this Methode: CAPX (both objects are dragable)
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 74
Reputation: 3,435

Post » Fri Jun 24, 2016 12:39 am

Hey, thanks for finding that example!
That is awesome - the Screen Effect is the magic that makes it work.
I was trying all kinds of complicated combinations of layers with different effects without much luck, but that example keeps things really simple. That will be very useful in the future!
B
96
S
33
G
20
Posts: 438
Reputation: 17,665

Post » Fri Jun 24, 2016 12:43 am

AllanR wrote:Hey, thanks for finding that example!
That is awesome - the Screen Effect is the magic that makes it work.
I was trying all kinds of complicated combinations of layers with different effects without much luck, but that example keeps things really simple. That will be very useful in the future!

Sure thing ;)

If you use this blur effect, it looks even nicer :D
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 74
Reputation: 3,435

Post » Fri Jun 24, 2016 12:50 am

Btw.: You can polish you project with this technique!

Just add a new layer and set its properties to:
  • Background color - 0, 0, 0
  • Transparent - No
  • Effect - Screen
  • Effect - YOUR_EFFECTS
This way, your whole layout gets a set of effects ;)
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 74
Reputation: 3,435


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artcadev, brunopalermo, Exabot [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 30 guests