[SOLVED]Why is Text object rendering text in multiple lines?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:38 pm

Hi everyone,

been running into an issue with the Text object.
Very simple though very annoying:
The Text object renders input with one line for each word though I didn't add any "& newline".
I thought that was a simple issue, but since my lines of code are so short, I have no idea what causes this.

Code:
Image

Text properties:
Image

Rendered result (tested in Chrome & Firefox):
Image

I can't believe I'm stuck on such a basic thing, but this really screws me over and it annoys me that I can't find the reason for this..

Anybody knows a fix for this?
Last edited by randomly on Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."
- Albert Einstein
B
27
S
11
G
8
Posts: 528
Reputation: 7,091

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:55 pm

Try a wait 0.1 after your set text. Maybe that helps.
B
24
S
3
G
1
Posts: 451
Reputation: 2,165

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:03 pm

@Asmodean
That fixed it. Thanks.
Is my laptop too slow or why is that an issue?
"We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."
- Albert Einstein
B
27
S
11
G
8
Posts: 528
Reputation: 7,091

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:10 pm

I think it took at least a tick to use the new size, so you have to wait or use it in another event.
B
24
S
3
G
1
Posts: 451
Reputation: 2,165

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:16 pm

Huh that's wierd since my Text object is big enough already before the text gets set.
Hm.

Thanks anyways.
"We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."
- Albert Einstein
B
27
S
11
G
8
Posts: 528
Reputation: 7,091


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests