Some advice needed

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
  • What must i do to put other people's games or apps on my website,I mean legal wise,Im not going to sell them i just want people to have more of a variety,Not just my stuff.I always get alot of indie games from a local magazine's cover dvd.Can i put those games from the cover dvd onto my website?.

I will also have a link to the artist's or gamedev's website if they have any.I guess the question is can i put a game onto my website without the knowledge of the person who created the game?.I will never sell any of thier games or claim it as my own.

• I guess the question is can i put a game onto my website without the knowledge of the person who created the game?

I'm not a lawyer, but I think the answer is "no". You're copying their work to your server and distributing it without their permission. If not legally, then morally it also feels wrong, because you're indirectly benefiting from publishing other people's work without their knowledge, which even if you're not making money from adverts, is in a way promoting your own website. The only exception is if the software is explicitly shareware (i.e. it actually says "please send this demo to all your friends!"), but you'll find most software and games, even if free, doesn't say that.

Alternatives:

• Require the author submit their work, like other community sites do
    • Simply link to an existing place online (e.g. the author's website) where the user can go to find the game.
    • In each and every case, contact the author and obtain permission.

Distributing other people's work yourself is a step too far though, IMO.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads