Some pre-purchase questions

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
You think you can guess the character’s name?! Then let’s see how smart you are!
  • Hi!

I've been playing around with C2 today, I kinda like its simplicity, I tried Torque Game Builder which seemed very powerful but the UI is a big let down and does not reflect its power at all. So I went back on this website and started looking a bit deeper.

I really love the community and the StackOverflow-alike forums. The app seems very nice and easy to use. In real life I'm a software developer (c#, vb, .net, etc) so I'm kind of used to technicalities and C2 seems to be another way of doing things simply and in a good way.

I got questions before throwing the bucks though:

1) To the current users: How flexible is the engine? I mean is it possible to make RPGs? Dynamic dialogs (questions with multiple answers etc), is there any possiblity of scripting stuff?

2) I know that it makes HTML5 games, but is it possible to export them as an executable file? If not, then I could make a simple HTML embedding executable in C# so I don't think it's a big problem for me yet.

3) Is there any way of using C2 with, let's say, Tiled (tileset editor) ? I have a lots of sprites which I can't seem to find a way of using in C2, I import them but the whole tileset is imported and I can't select only 1 character from the sheet (I must open it in photoshop then crop the image, etc)

4) As a last request I'd like people to tell me why I should chose C2? (Features that you like, etc)

Also if you could point me to a good place to get sidescrolling game level backgrounds (tiles) I'd be very grateful!

Thanks a lot for this and I hope to get to learn C2 perfectly :D

• Tom