Sound BUG found and recorded

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:48 pm

Problem Description
____ The bug creates a 0.005 second gap of no audio. The bug may be within audio-looping function or within the playback rate function. Either way it seems more likely to happen when there are more sprites added to the scene eg. 300-1000 64x64px sprites. ____

Attach a Capx
____ Capx is attached. ____

Description of Capx
____ This Capx plays one sound file that is perfectly loopable, on the smallest scale the start and end both start at the zero-point, (I used a program called EndlessWAV to make it perfectly loopable).

By clicking on the "+" and "-" sprites you can change the Playback_Rate (pitch) of the looping sound.
You can also change the volume of the sound with the second set of "+" and "-" sprites. ____

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Step 1 - Overload the scene by populating it with more sprites, or many animated sprites.
  • Step 2 - Lower and Raise the playback rate and hear for any Noises, pops and clicks.
  • Step 3 - Record the PC speaker "Stereo-Mix" output, and disable your microphone in the process.
  • Step 4 - Analyze the recording from the audio output of this CAPX.

Observed Result
____ Most of the time the loop plays clearly and perfectly, but once every 5 or 10-seconds there are very noticable audio pops and clicks and little annoying noises. ____

Expected Result
____ There is no reason why the audio shouldn't loop perfectly from layout start to end, without any pauses. I expect it to loop perfectly. ____

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (YES)
  • FireFox: (YES)
  • Internet Explorer: (N/A)
  • NodeWebKit: (YES)
  • CocoonJS on Android: (YES)

Operating System and Service Pack
____ Windows 7 (64-Bit) SP1 ____
____ Android 4.4 KitKat ____

Construct 2 Version ID
____ Construct 2 r175 beta (64-bit)____


Thank you, you guys rock! :-)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
34
S
5
G
1
Posts: 78
Reputation: 3,407

Post » Sun Jul 20, 2014 1:08 am

I think audio playback should get highest (CPU) priority, even over sprites and visuals. Why? becos sound happens on a much smaller scale than the tick level, and even a 0.005-second gap in audio is easily heard as a popping noise sound. In other commercial games, even when they hang the visuals freeze but the music and sounds keep on playing perfectly, so that proves that audio gets (CPU) priority over graphics.
B
34
S
5
G
1
Posts: 78
Reputation: 3,407

Post » Sun Jul 20, 2014 12:08 pm

There is nothing we could do to fix this: the browser generates the audio samples, not any Construct 2 code. You should file bugs with the affected browsers (crbug.com for Chrome and bugzilla.mozilla.org for Firefox). Closing as won't fix.
Scirra Founder
B
400
S
237
G
89
Posts: 24,550
Reputation: 195,537


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest