Sound in phonegap export

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 9:18 pm

How do I make sound to work in phonegap. I read somewhere that since some version of C2 audio object uses phonegap's audio for playback, but I can't get any sound to play after export. Is there something extra I must do? Thanks in advance.
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:10 pm

Its a known issue getting audio to work with PhoneGap.

In the latest built (r77) there is a appMobi export option, If audio is going to work then its most likely with AppMobi.
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,839

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:21 pm

and then there's this:

http://www.stefankendall.com/2011/12/29/using-appmobi-stop-immediately/

also I remember Ashley's struggles with them
and second also, major company like Adobe uses phonegap

so in conclusion, I'd prefer phonegap export to be the final and working over appmobi as I like to listen to people smarter than me :)
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:28 pm

[QUOTE=ranma] and then there's this:

http://www.stefankendall.com/2011/12/29/using-appmobi-stop-immediately/

also I remember Ashley's struggles with them
and second also, major company like Adobe uses phonegap

so in conclusion, I'd prefer phonegap export to be the final and working over appmobi as I like to listen to people smarter than me :)[/QUOTE]
----------------------------------------------

I think Adobe actually own Phonegap.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,205
Reputation: 7,298

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:44 pm

[QUOTE=chrisbrobs]

I think Adobe actually own Phonegap. [/QUOTE]

another reason to concentrate on it instead of appmobi :)
and true, on appmobi I got sound to work, but still would prefer phonegap.
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:06 pm

I would also prefer PhoneGap, It's easier to work with. But if you want audio in your game your going to have to use AppMobi. the audio issue is nothing to do with the developers of Construct2, its HTML5 in general, HTML5 + audio is just a bad combination right now. HTML5 is a relatively new technology. You might just have to wait .

There is a audio fix found here: http://www.scirra.com/forum/solution-nolag-audio-sfx-on-ios_topic45993_post288090.html.

I have not actually tested this with a build on phonegap, but it might work. I tested it as a web app and it worked.

I guess you could use the custom plugin: http://www.scirra.com/forum/plugin-jessejohs-html-elements-pack_topic47084_post294874.html <-- The HTML IFrame one, and call your webapp into a C2 project. Audio might work then..
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,839

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:22 pm

[QUOTE=ranma] and then there's this:

http://www.stefankendall.com/2011/12/29/using-appmobi-stop-immediately/

[/QUOTE]

But that can go both ways ranma.

Right now phongap has no sound. It is free but adobe is planning on announcing fees as soon as they finish developing Adobe Edge or maybe even sooner. Sure Adobe makes some excellent products but they all come at a very bloated price. Personally I wouldn't use Adobe products if the company I work for wouldn't buy them for me. The truth is there just not worth it. Anything you can do with Adobe products you can do with open source products.

While appmobi use to have a fee but is now open source, and it has sound. appMobi makes all there money from there hosting service. From what I have been reading they haven't given up on us they are still trying to make Construct 2, and appMobi fully compatible.

It is these reasons why I would choose appMobi over phonegap.
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:34 pm

phonegap HAS an audio engine ( http://docs.phonegap.com/en/1.3.0/phonegap_media_media.md.html#Media )
which WORKS when called via javascript outside of C2 canvas (modifying the html C2 produces) so I believe it is C2's problem unfortunately :(

edit: just exported by appmobi, the sound is there, it plays well, also multiple sounds work, but one particular (music that plays in background) doesn't. for now appmobi wins over phonegap :)ranma2012-01-27 23:36:32
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009

Post » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:45 pm

Have you tried modifying the HTML file C2 exports with the Audio Engine?
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,839

Post » Sat Jan 28, 2012 12:08 am

of course, that's why I said that it works, but if this was the way I wanted to work I wouldn't buy C2 now would I? :) I really hope this can be sorted out and working in a near future as a game without sound is no game. also I believe in scirra guys, I've been here since some really early versions of construct (classic) and seen things they can do, so no reason to stop doing them now, right? :)

also I quite don't understand why this is not a first priority issue for now :) lack of audio on a mobile game is a HUGE problem. I understand that phonegap support is experimental, but if you can make audio work there with a little bit of hack, why it cannot be implemented into the C2. also I think, if phonegap support would be done in a way that more and more phonegap's features would be implemented, C2 would become a number one mobile game creation tool.ranma2012-01-28 00:10:42
B
81
S
50
G
10
Posts: 555
Reputation: 13,009

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bluemonkey, Khamsou and 24 guests