Sound not working in I.E but in chrome

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:33 pm

Hi everyone. My game is working great in Chrome and Fire fox but it does not play ANY sounds in I.E

I'm stuck!

Please help.

https://apps.facebook.com/ninjaslice/?fb_source=search&ref=br_tf

or

http://www.warrior-scholar.com/Ninjaslice/

Thanks

Dan.
B
10
S
3
Posts: 113
Reputation: 1,191

Post » Sun Jan 26, 2014 12:22 am

What audio files are you using?

I believe IE and Safari only use MP4A while Chrome and FF use OGG. I'm not 100% sure on Safari though.
B
92
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,113

Post » Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:18 am

I've got the sounds loaded in all formats. So I don't understand why they are not playing.
B
10
S
3
Posts: 113
Reputation: 1,191

Post » Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:32 am

The audio works for me in Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer. Unfortunately the game froze up several times on IE and there were some graphical issues with the double doors that open and close.
B
56
S
15
G
13
Posts: 826
Reputation: 17,705

Post » Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:54 pm

That's really odd. I've tested it on all three and never saw any 'graphical issues'. Can you describe them?

Strange that I have no sound but you do and I have no graphics problem and you do. I've tested it on three different PC's.

Anyone else have these issues?

Still doesn't explain the missing sounds.

Thanks
B
10
S
3
Posts: 113
Reputation: 1,191

Post » Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:56 pm

Make sure to use the latest IE.

Best results in IE 11.

Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,592

Post » Wed Jan 29, 2014 3:49 pm

I am using the latest version of IE
B
10
S
3
Posts: 113
Reputation: 1,191

Post » Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:40 pm

IE plays the .m4a files whereas the other browsers play the .ogg files, so no sound in IE usually means you're either missing the .m4a files, or your server MIME types are incorrect and it is not serving the .m4a files correctly (or at all). More info in the manual.
Scirra Founder
B
403
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,653
Reputation: 196,143

Post » Thu Jan 30, 2014 1:07 pm

Hi Ashley, I looked in the manual and it states what you say BUT I don't know how to instruct my web provider to correct this. What specifically should I ask them?
B
10
S
3
Posts: 113
Reputation: 1,191

Post » Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:34 pm

Ask them to set up the MIME types given in the manual.
Scirra Founder
B
403
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,653
Reputation: 196,143

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bootfit and 17 guests