Sound

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:10 am

I have a question about sound. Why isn't all sound loaded at start? Is there a limitation that requires it to load at runtime?
I'm aware of the preload action, but I wanted to ask this
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,134

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:55 pm

It's so the project loads faster. Sounds which aren't played aren't downloaded at all, and music can often be very large and is streamed during the running of the game. I think this is important since often sound can make up the majority of the project file size. Having your project load in 1 minute instead of 4 minutes is worth a little latency on the first time the sounds are played, which you can cover up with preloading. And thanks to the offline cache there will be no delay on the second play.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,564

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:00 pm

Could there be an option to make it load all at first? I have less than 600kb of sound (and that's counting both formats) so it would be more beneficial to me to have an extra 5 seconds of loading than a .2 second delay when playing the sound for the firs time
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,134


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Eisenhans, Mirlas, Zebbi and 17 guests