Space Blaster for Windows demo

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Jun 25, 2012 4:10 pm

Hi Ashley

Will it be possible to use the whole Awesomium API?
Features like HTML UI (http://awesomium.com/wp-content/uploads/screenshot_overgrowth_ui.jpg) and in-game custom Web Browser interest me a lot.

Thanks
B
10
S
3
G
5
Posts: 14
Reputation: 3,344

Post » Mon Jun 25, 2012 4:21 pm

@Armitage1982 - Awesomium is literally Google Chrome in an EXE wrapper. So pretty much anything Google Chrome can do, Awesomium can do. Since you can make HTML UIs and in-game browsers in Chrome, so you can also in Awesomium.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Thu Jun 28, 2012 6:32 am

Wow, it's great.
B
12
S
2
G
1
Posts: 9
Reputation: 2,618

Post » Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:48 pm

I guess all game devs that posted here are using win7? Because I tested it on my WinXP SP3 and when I tried to close the demo via red button I saw a message from 'Data Execution Prevention' (DEP) for the first time in about 10 years of using Windows. It gets active if a program code tries to execute from protected memory (non-executable parts of the memory). After closing the message the space blaster demo crashed. To stress that: There were no issues as long as the demo was executed, only when trying to close it the protection gets active.
@Ashley: Is it a bug in Awesomium, or in C2? Or is it simply incompatible with WinXP?
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:04 pm

Sorry for bumping @Ashley, but I think it's worth to look at. I don't mind if it isn't meant to work on WinXP, I'd just like to know.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:07 pm

@tulamide - it should be working on XP, we definitely want to keep supporting the OS. I think Awesomium have already fixed a crash on exit problem, so hopefully the r100 release won't have this issue.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:07 am

Thank you :)
I'll test again in August then. Now with at least some way to export to .exe, C2 gets more interesting to me. That's my motivation for asking and hoping it will work reliably.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:36 am

Hi, i might be being stupid and i am sorry if i am, but does this exe wrapper mean i can download the zip file and then run it on my computer without needing any internet connection e.g. it wont try to connect when i first run it or anything. If so that really is awesome and i really cant wait till r100.

Just wanted to double check :)
B
25
S
7
G
5
Posts: 185
Reputation: 5,056

Post » Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:24 am

@AJTilley : that's exactly the aim of the .exe wrapper !
B
33
S
9
G
6
Posts: 709
Reputation: 6,704

Post » Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:45 am

heh, thanks, i thought it was and when running it it certainly didnt load at all.. But i just wanted to check. I cant wait for r100 to be released.
B
25
S
7
G
5
Posts: 185
Reputation: 5,056

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artpunk and 11 guests