Space Invader trouble

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:24 pm

To the sounds folder.
B
8
S
4
G
3
Posts: 69
Reputation: 2,556

Post » Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:33 pm

But are they all sounds? or is there music in there aswell?
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,849

Post » Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:35 pm

I think it's just sounds. It's just the noises the things make when they shoot and stuff.
B
8
S
4
G
3
Posts: 69
Reputation: 2,556

Post » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:21 am

did you try audacity?
B
60
S
22
G
14
Posts: 1,479
Reputation: 16,346

Post » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:22 am

No, how do I change them in that? Also I just noticed that when the score gets to 100 it goes away.
B
8
S
4
G
3
Posts: 69
Reputation: 2,556

Post » Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:21 am

I converted all sound files to ogg and they work now thank you all.

I searched about how to add more levels so I know about copying the events and layout and all, but does anyone have a good tutorial on how to add the screen so it says "level 2" when the aliens are all gone, make aliens respawn and all that? I already know how to make them move faster every level though. I also need to be able to lower the fire rate, not a certain amount of bullets; but so you cant fire as many in a few seconds by continuously clicking.Sheep2012-02-20 11:46:33
B
8
S
4
G
3
Posts: 69
Reputation: 2,556

Post » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:18 pm

Why dont you post you CAPX with what you have got, and let us now, where you got stuck.
This way, we know where we can help you, and you can learn by doing step for step
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:40 pm

Sheep, you enter the realm of "variables"
All your question can be answered by using them.

Use a global number that store the level you are currently in, when you start another one just increment it
For the fire rate, just put that in a variable and instead of every 3 seconds do an every fireRate second then you just have to modify the variable when you need.
etc :D
B
60
S
22
G
14
Posts: 1,479
Reputation: 16,346

Post » Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:20 pm

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/60325262/soundaddedgameoversolidedges.capx

Here is my .capx for it, and Yann you totally lost me there. I understand how to make global variables but not their purpose really.
B
8
S
4
G
3
Posts: 69
Reputation: 2,556

Post » Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:40 pm

in your game, as I remember, you had something like "every 3 seconds, pick random enemy and shot"
But this value "3 seconds" cannot be changed as it is. You cannot transform an every 3 seconds into an every 2 seconds. 'Cause the value is kinda hard coded.

However, if you use something that represent a number instead of a real number, you just have to change this representation.
It's basically what's great about variable.

Let say I create a variable that represent the fire rate
let's call it fireRate. And let say it's a global variable 'cause it conserns many objects.

Ok so we have this variable. Now instead of "every 3 seconds" we write "every fireRate second"

Now you can modify however you want this representation. If you set fireRate to 2 it will be "every 2 seconds" if you set fireRate to 0.5 it will be "every half a second" etc.


The same idea goes with "in which level am I ?"
That's not the true question, the true question is "how many Level did I win?"
So you can have a variable named "level" to which you add 1 each time you win a level. But as a matter of fact, this value will also represent the level you're in, 'cause each time ou win, your level should increase.

And then you just have to put in a text box
set text to "Level "&level

In short variable are used to control what can vary in a program.
That's allYann2012-02-21 15:41:47
B
60
S
22
G
14
Posts: 1,479
Reputation: 16,346

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: amarcelo, anty21ro, Magistross and 20 guests