Spawn object to spawnsprite

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Jul 08, 2013 5:51 pm

Hi!

I am using an spawnsprite to spawn objects at random intervals to set places in the layout.
My problem is that it is not checking if the "spawnpoint" is empty. And that leads that objects spawn on top of each other on my spawnsprite.

Any way to avoid this?

Banaanas2013-07-08 18:23:56
B
5
Posts: 5
Reputation: 235

Post » Mon Jul 08, 2013 6:27 pm

I don't know what events you are using to spawn the sprites, so I don't know if this will work, but you could check if a spawned sprite is overlapping the spawnsprite and if so don't spawn.

(I couldn't see the image before, but now I can and checking for overlap should work)LittleStain2013-07-08 18:29:22
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Mon Jul 08, 2013 6:50 pm

Ugh one problem still :D

So, I should add a condition with "Spawn is NOT overlapping ES" but i can only get "spawnpoint IS overlapping with ES" Is there a way to "reverse" it?
Or do I need to do the check in another way with a sub condition or something?
B
5
Posts: 5
Reputation: 235

Post » Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:16 am

Oh my god i feel so stupid, found the invert option myself... Thanks a lot you guys for the help!

New question though, I want to adjust my characters maxspeed depending on a global variable "health", any good advice how to achieve this in a simple way?
B
5
Posts: 5
Reputation: 235

Post » Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:05 am

[QUOTE=Banaanas] Oh my god i feel so stupid, found the invert option myself... Thanks a lot you guys for the help!

New question though, I want to adjust my characters maxspeed depending on a global variable "health", any good advice how to achieve this in a simple way? [/QUOTE]

If your character uses the platform behaviour, you can change the Maximum speed, by setting it to health*some_number_that_should_fit_it, or another formula
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:38 am

[QUOTE=Aphrodite] [QUOTE=Banaanas] Oh my god i feel so stupid, found the invert option myself... Thanks a lot you guys for the help!

New question though, I want to adjust my characters maxspeed depending on a global variable "health", any good advice how to achieve this in a simple way? [/QUOTE]

If your character uses the platform behaviour, you can change the Maximum speed, by setting it to health*some_number_that_should_fit_it, or another formula[/QUOTE]

So simple, so elegant. Thanks a lot! Now I am getting the hang of the event sheet
B
5
Posts: 5
Reputation: 235


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David181, OBLIVION, senecaa and 24 guests