Sprite Button Plugin - UPDATE 01/23 - v0.9b

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:46 am

Well, I've been working on this the past couple days and I'm now ready to release an alpha version of my latest plugin: Sprite Button!

[size=150:24r0zc6b]Sprite Button Plugin - v0.9b[/size:24r0zc6b]
[size=125:24r0zc6b]Download Now(with example) - 132KB[/size:24r0zc6b]

Features:
- Graphics: Specify the three main faces for your button: Default, hovering, and clicked.

- Text: Add text to your buttons with options such as font, size, color, position, and offset.

- Icons: Button icons allow you to assign your buttons -- unique objects only, copies will all have the same icon -- specialized icons, with options for positioning and offset.

- Identifiers: Identifiers allow you to differentiate between copies of one button type. For example: You have three buttons of the same type with unique identifiers, "New", "Save", and "Load". Using the "Button clicked by ID" condition, you can check copies of buttons independently and have them do different things.
You can also use the "Button identifier" expression to retrieve the identifier of the currently clicked button. This identifier can be used in tandem with the function object to call functions with the same name as the button identifier.

Those are the main features for now. This is currently designated an alpha since I don't have all of the features in yet. Plans for the plugin include support for two state buttons, check boxes, and radio buttons, the latter of which should be pretty intuitive to use.

Unfortunately I don't have time at the moment to pull together a proper example, but it's all rather intuitive and shouldn't be too hard to pick up.

As with my other plugins, be sure to post with your thoughts about the plugin, feature requests, and any bugs you stumble across. Have fun! :)
Moderator
B
98
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,717

Post » Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:21 am

I'm sure this will come in handy. Thanks a lot! :)
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 520
Reputation: 2,690

Post » Mon Nov 09, 2009 6:21 am

Nice idea!
Ever thought about doing something like a gui plug?
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Mon Nov 09, 2009 6:48 am

*cough*inventory*cough*
B
6
S
2
G
3
Posts: 520
Reputation: 2,690

Post » Mon Nov 09, 2009 8:57 am

Wohoo i've been waitin for this^^ Now I just have to wait something that allows my mechs to have different sets of weapons without havin zillion events on identifying etc etc
B
11
S
3
G
4
Posts: 622
Reputation: 3,186

Post » Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:06 am

I installed it, It doesn't appear to work.

I use 99.5 by the way...
B
2
S
1
G
3
Posts: 118
Reputation: 1,336

Post » Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:01 am

Oh linkman I love you! I could have a use for this right away, will make things handier for sure! Thx so much! :D
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:32 pm

Thanks for the comments, everybody! Glad you're enjoying it thus far. :)

[quote="newt":2bc5ivkc]Nice idea!
Ever thought about doing something like a gui plug?[/quote:2bc5ivkc]
A GUI plugin could be a cool idea. Mind giving some suggestions on how it could work?

[quote="ShadeKirby500":2bc5ivkc]I installed it, It doesn't appear to work.

I use 99.5 by the way...[/quote:2bc5ivkc]
Have you tried the example? Does that appear to be working?
Moderator
B
98
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,717

Post » Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:56 pm

[quote="linkman2004":2iunsbqf]A GUI plugin could be a cool idea. Mind giving some suggestions on how it could work?[/quote:2iunsbqf]
- buttons
- checkboxes (also radio)
- basic frames (window, dialog etc.)
- dropdown list
- input field (one line, multi line)

Those are the basics, I believe, that are lacking in Construct (since the default windows control is wonky in DX9 runtime).
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:16 pm

[quote="Mipey":3fo0i79p][quote="linkman2004":3fo0i79p]A GUI plugin could be a cool idea. Mind giving some suggestions on how it could work?[/quote:3fo0i79p]
- buttons
- checkboxes (also radio)
- basic frames (window, dialog etc.)
- dropdown list
- input field (one line, multi line)

Those are the basics, I believe, that are lacking in Construct (since the default windows control is wonky in DX9 runtime).[/quote:3fo0i79p]

Yeah, something that was skinable, but helped in gui organization as well.
To start you would need a basic window, or base that you can easily find coords of x,y within the window. This would be great for placing the buttons, etc. It would also be great if it was like the tiled bg object, or panel object, where you could put a tiled image as a background.
It would be interesting if you could divide it up like a distort map, and have rows, and columns.
You could then simply say set button at column 5, row 8.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests