Sprite Font Generator - v3

Discussion of tools and resources for game developers

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:55 am

@alspal

Let's try one more thing:
GYFM_v1_11_4.zip
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
258
Posts: 3,791
Reputation: 143,198

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:12 am

Same steps: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1024727/GYFM.log

same thingalspal2013-08-31 05:12:42
B
152
S
75
G
21
Posts: 1,795
Reputation: 23,285

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:45 am

@alspal

Found it:
GYFM_v1_11_5.zip
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
258
Posts: 3,791
Reputation: 143,198

Post » Sat Aug 31, 2013 6:37 am

Awesome! Well I haven't noticed it happen again yet :)
B
152
S
75
G
21
Posts: 1,795
Reputation: 23,285

Post » Wed Sep 25, 2013 2:03 pm

I love this tool including JSON.

I'm wondering how to adjust the width of space between the words. I imported mine and the space seems too long.
B
99
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,421

Post » Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:25 pm

You have to set the space width separately. Have a look at the CAPX sample on the first post.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
258
Posts: 3,791
Reputation: 143,198

Post » Wed Sep 25, 2013 5:04 pm

Oops, my mistake, I tought it looks like "" but I observed it was " " there a space. Thanks!
B
99
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,421

Post » Sat Oct 12, 2013 8:28 pm

Hi blackhornet!
I've been fiddling with your tool and it's a real time saver!

However, I noticed sometimes the image dimensions are a bit off: I'm trying to export a font with the latin characters (...) so it's a lot more characters. The problem is that the output image is 256 x 4096, and it could easily fit a more square size (probably 1024x1024).

Is there any thing I can do to prevent your tool from going crazy like this? :)
B
108
S
40
G
11
Posts: 456
Reputation: 13,787

Post » Sat Oct 12, 2013 9:24 pm

@gammabeam
I actually try to get the image to be square, but there's a bunch of factors that affect the final size that's calculated. The final file size is exactly the same in the case you illustrate, so it really doesn't matter in the end.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
258
Posts: 3,791
Reputation: 143,198

Post » Sat Oct 12, 2013 9:48 pm

Hi man, thanks for the quick reply!

The problem with non-square textures is that the video card will always put any texture you have on powers of 2. So a 4096x256 image will actually use video memory as if it was a 4096x4096 texture, which is a lot - especially for a font asset! :-)
B
108
S
40
G
11
Posts: 456
Reputation: 13,787

PreviousNext

Return to Tools and Resources

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests