Sprite LoadImage from URL is working wrong...

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:48 pm

@Ashley...
No, I don't think so
1. You can see second image in case you post it's url in browser.
2. If I change image ure (ie "http://www.psdgraphics.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/color-wheel.jpg"). The result is same (blank).
3. In my browser have no error message on firebug...:)..???


I still believe that the sprite have no redraw function after image is loaded already...???. I guess...

I did try this test many time with different image's url but same..

Thank to0 much for your replyhoanganh172013-01-18 16:06:06
B
11
S
2
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1,438

Post » Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:05 pm

@hoanganh17 - viewing an image in a browser is not the same as requesting it from a different web page. Many servers allow you to view images directly in a browser, but not request it from a different page (e.g. to avoid hotlinking or trying to steal content).

Use this tool to check what permission the server gives:
http://web-sniffer.net/
The first URL you try to load is this one:
http://i478.photobucket.com/albums/rr143/jennette79/baby_angel.jpg
The server responds with:
Access-Control-Allow-Origin:     *
This means "you are allowed to use this image". This is because photobucket are OK with you using their images on other sites.

Try your other image URL:
http://www.psdgraphics.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/color-wheel.jpg
The server does not respond with any "Access-Control-Allow-Origin" header. This means "you are not allowed to use this image", and the image fails to load. This is the default setting for most servers, or indicates the author of the site does not want you to use their images on other sites.

So this is still not a bug, you need to make sure you have permission to access the images you want.

Note in Chrome's console it returns an error message whenever you try to load an image you don't have permission for - I don't know why Firebug doesn't though.Ashley2013-01-18 16:05:34
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518

Post » Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:09 pm

Thank you @Ashley.
You give me very clear explanation.
I will do a test again in my own server and give you a result tomorrow..

Best regards
B
11
S
2
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1,438

Post » Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:27 pm

Thank you Ashley
In case of "Access-Control-Allow-Origin" existed..function load Image from URL is working well.

You are my captain
Best regards
B
11
S
2
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1,438

Post » Mon Jan 18, 2016 2:57 am

Hi

I am having the same issue. I have a hosting plan with HostGator.
I wanted to ask how you solved the problem?
Is this a problem of the hosting company, or do I need to do some configuration in the html of the page?

I really appreciate your help.
B
23
S
8
G
1
Posts: 36
Reputation: 2,052

Post » Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:06 am

Me too, i use 000webhost i don't have the permission to re use my own files.
Should i ask them ? Can i do it by miself ?
B
7
Posts: 18
Reputation: 339

Post » Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:40 pm

Image
B
54
S
22
G
7
Posts: 1,405
Reputation: 10,289

Previous

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests