Sprite Sheet Question: Lip Sync

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:49 pm

When working within the "edit animations" section of the software, does duplicating an image in the timeline create another image in on the sprite sheet or does Construct 2 just know to visit the original frame again during playback?

I'm asking because I was thinking of doing some lip syncing in my game but just wanted to use about 5 different mouth shapes and reuse them in the order I need depending on what was being said. If it just keeps building up the sprite sheet that could get pretty large.

Thanks.
B
40
S
11
G
6
Posts: 228
Reputation: 6,951

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm

Whilst I'm not too sure about how c2 handles duplicate images, may I suggest doing lipsyncing in an alternative way? Mainly to do with checking an audio files position as it is playing in c2 and chnaging the mouth frame depending on the section that is being played. Just a suggestion :D
B
45
S
19
G
10
Posts: 562
Reputation: 9,543

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 5:19 pm

Construct 2 doesn't identify duplicate images yet, although this could be added in future. You could work around it by re-using the same animation frames in events.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 5:47 pm

@ashley is there a way to put in my sequence in a single event? For example: play frame (1,2,4,3,5,1,1,2)

Or would I use on event per frame?

@Jase00 I'll give that some thought. Thanks for the suggestion.
B
40
S
11
G
6
Posts: 228
Reputation: 6,951


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: saiyadjin and 10 guests