Sprite sheet's different states

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:05 pm

Hi. I'm new to Construct, and sprite sheets so please be gentle! I've been doing a couple of platform game tutorials but haven't found out how to set the different states of a sprite sheet ("idle", "jump", "run" and so on) in Construct2. Is there any tutorial on this topic? I have searched ... I found I can make sprite sheets from Flash via Grant Skinners "Zo".

Waiting and hoping
SigmundO
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 32
Reputation: 2,959

Post » Tue Apr 10, 2012 4:29 pm

Have you tried using 'Set animation'?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Tue Apr 10, 2012 5:25 pm

I'm not sure about what you ask here.
Do you want to know how to add several animations to a sprite, importing frames from a sprite sheet ?
If so, when you're done with the procedure in that page of the tutorial, right click the "Animations dialog"

And select "Add a new animation".

From there you'll be able to import again frames and have a new animation usable in your sprite.


As Ashley said, if you want, in events, to display another animation of your sprite, use the sprite action "Set animation".

Does that answer your question ?
Maybe a little read through the manual could help you up picking the vocabulary and ways of working with C2.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:32 am

Thank you. I have browsed through the manual but read only the "Image and Animations Editor" chapter. But I can see the sense in knowing the vocabulary! What I thought was possible was to import a spritesheet with a characters animations and then make different animations from different frames in the spritesheet. Seems to me I have to make different spritesheets for different animations?
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 32
Reputation: 2,959

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:15 am

I think you have to use one animation per sprite sheet because when you import it it all ends up in the same animation in the animation editor. You're best bet may be to crop your sprite sheet into individual animation sprite sheets. I suppose you could import the whole thing and delete the frames you don't need from the editor, which may take long if you have a large sprite sheet.

Also, keep in mind that there are a lot of handy "Help" hyperlinks throughout construct(for example in the properties pane on the left while the animation editor is open) that will take you to a relevant page in the manual when clicked. It really is a lovely feature that will improve your knowledge of the specific subject you want to focus on without having to take the time to read and remember everything all at once.

MarkRMichaels2012-04-17 10:22:41
B
14
Posts: 5
Reputation: 587

Post » Tue Apr 17, 2012 2:39 pm

Thanks!
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 32
Reputation: 2,959

Post » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:21 pm

My apologies for ressurecting a dead horse but I was wondering if it is possible to use a sprite sheet without it getting chopped into individual frames again on export. This will save a lot of downloading.

Edit: As usual the I am probably being a numpty disclaimer applies.mikepixie2012-04-23 13:22:08
B
16
S
2
G
4
Posts: 67
Reputation: 3,295


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 25 guests