Sprite size: creation vs. usage

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:52 pm

Wondering if I create sprites at size 512x128 in Paint.NET etc. and import to C2 and use it in game at size 64x16 will the memory amount of game be based on larger image?

Will export size be larger based on using larger original images?DrGreenThumbCAN2013-06-28 23:53:15
B
40
S
12
G
6
Posts: 136
Reputation: 6,347

Post » Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:02 am

If you shrink the image down to 64x16 in the Construct 2 animation editor, then you will save memory (and loose quality :( )
If you are loading it in, and NOT shrinking it in the animation editor, and shrinking it down in the events/layout editor, then it will still be using the original 512x128 image in memory. (Though the payoff is that it's high quality, so if you ever resize the sprite to be bigger again in the game, it will look smooth rather than pixelated)
B
51
S
20
G
10
Posts: 571
Reputation: 9,819

Post » Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:14 am

k thanks for response that's what I figured probably using 256x64 as byte size is much smaller than 512x128DrGreenThumbCAN2013-06-29 00:15:04
B
40
S
12
G
6
Posts: 136
Reputation: 6,347

Post » Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:47 pm

will start new topic if needed to get response but it is related to original question
if sprite is 128x32 in creation but using on screen at 64*32 or something that is less than the original
will memory be based on each instance at 64*32 or each instance at 128*32?
Expecting to have 30 or so instances near the 64*32 mark but creating at 128*32
so will memory usage be 30*mem of orig sprite or 30*mem of instance sizeDrGreenThumbCAN2013-07-02 19:50:06
B
40
S
12
G
6
Posts: 136
Reputation: 6,347

Post » Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:21 pm

The memory usage will be based on the texture, that being the image size in your image editor...
As long as I can move left, right and fire, I'm Happy...
B
42
S
15
G
11
Posts: 655
Reputation: 12,260

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:52 am

so in answer to question it'd be the memory of
30*mem of orig sprite not 30*mem of displayed image
correct?
B
40
S
12
G
6
Posts: 136
Reputation: 6,347

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:16 am

if all are different sprites its 30* orig, if all the same its 1*orig
ImageImage
B
69
S
21
G
7
Posts: 827
Reputation: 10,017

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:30 am

let's say have 4 rows each row has same sprite but each row is dif sprite
-----
*****
/////
+++++
so would each row be 5*orig or 1*orig since instances in same row are same but each row is dif
so total of 1*orig per row
or 5*orig per row
B
40
S
12
G
6
Posts: 136
Reputation: 6,347

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:02 am

1*orig per row
ImageImage
B
69
S
21
G
7
Posts: 827
Reputation: 10,017

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:11 am

ok thanks
@vtrix
I know that's what was said prior but was wanting to ensure understood fully
thanks
B
40
S
12
G
6
Posts: 136
Reputation: 6,347

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests