SpriteFont (v0.99.5RC) - new update, small bugfixes

Post and try out addons that are currently in development.

Post » Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:59 pm

I love you, too Azu

[size=120:rl4k7xiz][color=#8040BF:rl4k7xiz]Update(v0.2)[/color:rl4k7xiz][/size:rl4k7xiz]
Changelog:
Bug Fixed: [list:rl4k7xiz][*:rl4k7xiz]scrolling outside the bounding box while Text is confined to box no longer causes crash[/*:m:rl4k7xiz][/list:u:rl4k7xiz]
Changes: [list:rl4k7xiz][*:rl4k7xiz]Get Edit Box Text is now Get Current Text, to clarify that it returns any type of text currently displayed[/*:m:rl4k7xiz][*:rl4k7xiz]Default is now "do not confine to box"[/*:m:rl4k7xiz][/list:u:rl4k7xiz]
Added:[list:rl4k7xiz][*:rl4k7xiz]GetPhraseLength Expression[/*:m:rl4k7xiz][/list:u:rl4k7xiz]

Thanks to Newt for finding the scroll bug, and also, Newt, I will be adding private variables, as soon as I get some clarification from the devs on the best way to do this.

[quote="newt":rl4k7xiz]Speaking of the sprite I could use a few examples of how to use some of its functions in combination.[/quote:rl4k7xiz]
here's your first example
these tutorials will also be listed in the first post as I add them:
this is an example of how you can get back to your text info from a normal sprite pick:
(saved in 99.3)[size=130:rl4k7xiz][color=#40BFFF:rl4k7xiz]word picking example[/color:rl4k7xiz][/size:rl4k7xiz]

here's a more advanced fancy showoff example with "for each character" Picking to demonstrate the power of the Picking and Related Expressions: (davio, this one's for you)
[size=130:rl4k7xiz][color=#0080BF:rl4k7xiz]CircleTrick CAP![/color:rl4k7xiz][/size:rl4k7xiz]

[size=130:rl4k7xiz][color=#0080BF:rl4k7xiz]CircleTrick EXE![/size:rl4k7xiz] (must see)[/color:rl4k7xiz]


edit: two new demos:
Demo1
Demo2
the caps for these demos are at the bottom of the original post
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:56 pm

Nice!!11 Gonna try this out. This plugin was in DIRE NEED of creation.
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:46 am

crash.

[code:1hl5ndiu]System: Always (every tick)
> SpriteSet X to BitmappedText 0 .DistFromXSide+sin(timer+.x)[/code:1hl5ndiu]

Is this how i'm supposed to be using that expression anyways?

EDIT: I'm pretty sure I pinned down why it crashes, it happens when the expression [code:1hl5ndiu]BitmappedText 0 .DistFromXSide[/code:1hl5ndiu] is called when no letters are drawn.

Edit2: Upon further testing of the plugin, i see you went all out on the AC and E's. There are SOOOOOO many options, all of which come in handy. Damn good plugin lucid.

-I can't figure out the edit box feature, maybe i've been up too late.
-What does move cursor do

Edit3: Ok, i see that distfromXside is for use with for each character in phrase only, but i can't figure out how to correctly use it. I'll take a look at your cap.

Edit4!!!: Awesome, I thought distfromXside did what position in phrase does. All works fine now, and this plugin is pimpin useful. I'm off to make some cool text.

if possible..[size=150:1hl5ndiu]FEATURE REQUEST[/size:1hl5ndiu]=Condition>> Is writing
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:21 pm

hey, davio, thanks for reporting the crash, i will fix that and add the "is writing" for the next build.
k, im on my phone so i cant make a cap
but you call "start edit box", and most of the options explain themselves if you click on them.
try setting a dash for the blank character to see what it does. choose an initial phrase, and the max number of characters allowed. once you start edit box,
you should be able to type and erase characters(some cool conditions for this one, too, like"typing attempted on full edit box").
you will continue to be able to type characters until you call "end edit box" or if you set the option for it in you original call, it can be ended by pressing enter.

set a sprites position to cursorx,cursory, and you'll understand what it is.
you can also get the character currently under a cursor, and set the option to "only allow arrow keys" to make a snes style name edit screen where you choose your letters instead of typing them. as of now up and down arrow keys dont work for this. will be fixed in a later build.

also, if you havent tried it yet. not in edit box, but in regular text, try setting alignment to center or right, and then do write text, with "insert" and then "absolute" . kinda neat
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2009 5:06 pm

[quote="lucid":oqkm48k0]hey, quazi[/quote:oqkm48k0]

Ehem. :mrgreen:

Thanks for the info!
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2009 5:13 pm

heh, i was in the middle of editting that when you posted
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2009 6:40 pm

Looking good!
I have a small request. Would it be possible to use decimals for coords? As it is now it will only use whole numbers.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,356
Reputation: 66,767

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2009 6:50 pm

Thank you so much for this awesome extension. :)
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 124
Reputation: 1,698

Post » Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:21 pm

ChangeLog
v0.3b

fixed:[list:2c8t64er][*:2c8t64er]crash when testing for cursor position when not in edit box[/*:m:2c8t64er][*:2c8t64er]crash when testing for cursor position when not locked to grid[/*:m:2c8t64er][*:2c8t64er]several crashes when checking for information on a character, when you had not picked them through "for each character"(now return 0 instead of crashing)[/*:m:2c8t64er][/list:u:2c8t64er]
added:[list:2c8t64er][*:2c8t64er]condition: Is Writing[/*:m:2c8t64er][*:2c8t64er]condition: In Edit Box[/*:m:2c8t64er][*:2c8t64er]condition: Edit Box Ended[/*:m:2c8t64er][/list:u:2c8t64er]

also, added a cap, to show how the edit box and cursor works
you can move the cursor with the arrow keys, aside from the automovement with typing
[url:2c8t64er]http://files.getdropbox.com/u/1013446/bitmapped%20text/tutorials/cursor.cap[/url:2c8t64er]

Newt, if you can do me a favor, and list the different types of coords that should have float values, because I will have to change several values, and I'd prefer to do them all at once.
the position of the phrase?, the y offset for characters? etc.. I don't need to know each action to change them in, just which types of values other than phrase position you'd like to see as floats

don't worry quazio...sorry, I mean Davi. set range through string still coming.
newt, still looking into the private variables

and thank you holymonkey.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:08 am

lol you did the circle text! XD
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

PreviousNext

Return to Work-in-progress addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests