[SPRITER] How do I trig a sound on a specific frame ?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2015 1:09 pm

Message: c13303 can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
Hi !
I'm using Spriter with Construct 2 and I am really, really happy with it :D

However I'm facing a problem now :
I'm just trying to put a step sound on the right frame of a walking animation.

On a classic animation, it's quite easy to guess the frame number and apply a sound on it.

On a spriter one, that's a different story ! I noticed that a frame count is made, but how it is done ? It seems unrelated to the timeline we can see in Spriter (usually 0-1000)

Is there maybe a way to apply "triggers" (by replacing a sprite on a frame, for example ?) in the animation, so Construct 2 get a signal to play the sound ?

Thank for your help and for your work !

:cool:

EDIT : they actully answered to me and here is the tutorial

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BE8jKRV0o24
B
8
S
4
Posts: 131
Reputation: 1,205

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:32 am

I haven't actually worked with spriter that much or Construct for that matter. An easy solution would be to look at the spriters timeline which is measured in miliseconds. You should be able to solve it with something similar to

+ (Sprite-Object)Character > Animation Set to "Walk" >> (System-object)Wait 0.X seconds
> (Audio-object) Play "walkingsound.obb"

I haven't tried it, but perhaps the system object with function "wait" will point you in the right direction? :)
Currently working on "Unsung" - an open world platform adventure for PC and Consoles. follow me on Instagram :D
B
18
S
2
G
2
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,230

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 12:30 pm

thanks @g3nki

Actually I got the solution (from Spriter forum help)
The sounds are managed by Spriter itself and then follow this tutorial
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BE8jKRV0o24

Very practical and efficient. You can set your sounds very accurately while doing the animation work !

Before that I was doing a bit like you say but it's totally messy to be honest :-)

PS : checked your instagram your artwork is super lovely !
B
8
S
4
Posts: 131
Reputation: 1,205

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:38 pm

Wow, that's amazing @c13303! I never knew. Thank you for showing this! it's nice to have a solution in the thread as well. :) I will keep that in mind once I start animating for real, first off I want to create the world, then the characters-/monster- and asset animations, finally I'll try to glue everything together in the engine.

I only work with the game development part-time, leaving me with a development period of 4+ years. Who knows if there's a C3 coming out until then? :) I wan't the majority of assets to be ready before I start with the engine for real, re-evaluating what my options are.

Thank you so much for your kind words. Your artwork looks amazing as well, It brings back memories to "Another World" and "Flashback" from the early 90's :) Keep up the good work!
Currently working on "Unsung" - an open world platform adventure for PC and Consoles. follow me on Instagram :D
B
18
S
2
G
2
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,230


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bluesun66, Kenthria, Malhog, plinkie, Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests