Spriter/C2 4/5 bug fix

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Nov 02, 2016 10:32 pm

Hi @lucid, I can't seem to fix my pivot point problem. I just downloaded the newest scml plugin, updated the plugin files in the Construct plugins scml folder, but the sprites of my character are still weirdly rotated.
I did try again, downloaded the plugin, reinstalled, and saved my Spriter scml/scon files including a new spritesheet png. But this didn't help.
Running Spriter release 9, the lastest Construct version and the plugin in dates from 11/2 in the Construct folder. Not sure what's happening here :)
B
84
S
20
G
6
Posts: 175
Reputation: 8,156

Post » Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:25 pm

@Robin Sommer - could you send me your zipped Spriter project to [email protected]?
Spriter Dev
B
99
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,259
Reputation: 16,894

Post » Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:45 am

@lucid Sure! I've send you an email with all the files! Thanks again for you time :)
B
84
S
20
G
6
Posts: 175
Reputation: 8,156

Post » Thu Nov 03, 2016 6:56 pm

Hi everyone. I am currently using the old spriter plugin and would love to upgrade it to the new plugin version with "performance mode". I haven't done too many characters yet and I could easily delete the old ones and replace them. However, I have a big issue, the main character. A lot of logic has been implemented involving his movement pattern in connection with animation-triggers. is it possible to update the previous scml-object of my main character to the new scml in performance mode? if so, what would be the best way to do this?

All help is greatly appreciated. :)
Currently working on "Unsung" - an open world platform adventure for PC and Consoles. follow me on Instagram :D
B
18
S
2
G
2
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,230

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2016 1:02 pm

@lucid, I've emailed you the CAPX files requested and some further details on the issue. Thanks for looking into this.
B
12
S
2
G
1
Posts: 23
Reputation: 886

Post » Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:07 am

Hi,

I wasn't too sure where to post this.

I am using the Spriter plugin I found and downloaded it from here https://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=75748&start=0

For some reason I cannot get my sprite to show though. I can't see it in the Construct 2 editor and I can't see it when I run my game either. I followed the instructions on saving it in Spriter using the other save options and made a new event sheet and layout to place my Spriter objects, I have dragged and dropped the .SCML file on to my Spriter layout too. The only event I see in the event sheet is an 'Initialize' event.
B
9
S
3
Posts: 45
Reputation: 770

Post » Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:30 am

Hello @lucid it's me again and I think I've found a bug.

To give you some background on what I would like to achieve.
I would like to manipulate the angle of a single bone, this would make it possible for me to set the angle of a weapon accordingly to the mouse pointer position.

I've done some smaller tests as you can see in the image below and I couldn't get it to work.
I did use your example capx and tried to set the angle of the pistol but it didn't work at all.
I'm not sure if this is an issue related to the new self-drawing method but the "Override ..." doesn't seem to work with the old method.

This issue is pretty critical in terms of game development and currently slows down our progress.
@lucid I hope that you're able to fix or provide a workaround for this issue, thanks in advance!

My test to override the pistol animation and set the angle to mouse pointer position.
Image


Edit: I'm using the latest version and ignored the error messages since the older version is returning a JS error while previewing.
Last edited by TheRealDannyyy on Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImageImageImage
B
56
S
21
G
77
Posts: 637
Reputation: 43,963

Post » Fri Nov 25, 2016 7:30 pm

Thanks for reporting the issued, everyone. Edgar will look into them in the near future.
-Mike at BrashMonkey
B
49
S
9
G
4
Posts: 425
Reputation: 7,037

Post » Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:03 am

Hi. I've been playing around with spriter for my next project and and must say that it is really great. Character maps are so handy for me who likes to create tons of playable characters that shares the same animation. So thank you for this amazing tool :D

One question. I have an animated character and would like to add a hat to this character. Do I have to animate the hat to match the heads animation or can I just place the hat on keyframe 1 and then lock the hat sprite to the head and it just moves with the head which is already animated?

I know that if I had used the bone tool I could just add it to the head bone but I didn't use bones for this character.

EDIT: I've decided to start over and just build the character with bones instead which makes it so much easier.
Last edited by Anonnymitet on Sat Dec 10, 2016 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
52
S
22
G
12
Posts: 728
Reputation: 11,722

Post » Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:32 am

Hey @lucid, how are you doing?

So... to the point, I tried updating the scml plugin to version 7-9-16 from an older verison and it gave a probably not-very-helpful error (https://i.gyazo.com/dd9ec35330569c7afa6 ... 0d0684.png)

I don't want the edittime error problem you had before but didn't see anything about it being fixed, and I also don't want to update to the new performance mode.

So... is it safe to update to the latest plugin even if we were using an older version? Is there anything I should be concerned about? Trying to find out why an older version of a plugin doesn't work seems like a poor use of effort/time, but I also don't want to unknowingly incur some issues by upgrading (which I tested and SEEMS to work, but... I like to play it safe, haha).

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Aaaand right after this I tried updating an animation (using the latest version of Spriter and the plugin) and got anotherr error

Image

Again, trying to decipher why this is happening seems like a futile task given how many variables there are, though I also can't afford to like, start over. Any ideas I should try or any specific info I can give to help get this sorted out?

EDIT2:

So... while the C2 implementation of Spriter has never really worked well for me, after updating Spriter to r9 and the SCML plugin to version 7-9 and later the latest version, it's straight stopped working.

So I tried different versions of the plugins, looked for an older version of Spriter (to no avail), tried resaving the CAPX, tried deleting the old object in C2 and re-inserting it, tried creating a new Spriter project and importing the old one into it, tried inserting into the example CAPX you created (since it doesn't have as much going on), and finally, tried creating a new Spriter project and inserting it into the CAPX, which is the only thing that actually works, but I really don't want to have to recreate all my animations. (I tried an older animation and just dropping it straight into the project works fine, but it seems like trying to update anything basically bricks it.)
B
19
S
10
Posts: 51
Reputation: 1,675

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rovacado, tarek2 and 2 guests