Spriter/C2 update 11/2 bug fix for performance mode

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:59 pm

@lucid

It is B8_2. I tried to unistall and install the software again and nothing has happened(
B
7
S
1
Posts: 73
Reputation: 603

Post » Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:27 am

@lucid,

Check you pm's - I've sent you a bug report b8_2 / r174 with capx. Thanks!
...busy learning Unity - real lights etc!
(but c2 is easily the quickest way to make 2d html5 games)!
B
60
S
15
G
50
Posts: 2,085
Reputation: 33,190

Post » Mon Jun 30, 2014 6:25 pm

@Bass_X if possible, please send your Spriter project and if relevant your C2 project to lucid@brashmonkey.com and I can take a look for you.

thanks @colludium. will do
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:02 pm

Thanks for all the hard work on Spriter and the importer plugin.

Unfortunately I recently updated to the latest importer and am now experiencing some trouble with legacy scml/scon files. To be more specific, the files import into C2 fine but when I run the layout they're invisible. Setting an action to make the sprites in the family visible shows them, but no animation plays.

As I mentioned I've updated to the latest import plugin, running Construct r174 and Spriter b8_2 and have the three Custom Save Options checked.

The GreyGuy works fine, as does any new Spriter file I create and import.

However, when I re-save any of my older files or even any of the files in the art pack (e.g. PlatformerPack\player or Goblin_enemy) I experience the invisible / no animation problem. Any ideas?
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 189

Post » Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:04 pm

@kirbyUFO - The way files are named changed at some point. The individual sprite names now contain the entity name as well so you'll need to save your old files with the new options and re-import them with a different name, then change all of your old events to refer to the new spriter object. You can right click on any event or selected number of events and chose "replace object," to make the transition fairly easy.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,874

Post » Mon Jun 30, 2014 11:55 pm

@PSI Thanks for the response =) That makes sense, I had a vague idea that I was going to need to update all my events after importing with the new Spriter format so it's good to have confirmation on that.

I did some more testing and it seems that my simpler legacy animations work fine when resaved as .scml and .scon with the proper custom save options, so that's a relief. Unfortunately my main character which by far has the most animation data still has the invisible sprites/animation problem.

Also, when I try to play an animation with a "Set Animation" event it pops up the following error:

Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'length' of undefined
http://localhost:50000/Spriter_plugin.js, line 2272 (col 32)

Edit:

Okay, just tried deleting all but one animation in the file and it worked, so maybe I'll just have to go through 38 animations and find out which are causing a problem.

Edit 2:

Found the culprit! I had saved a new version of this character's head sprite into its root folder and made the mistake of swapping it in C2 rather than overwriting it. When my animator went to work on it in Spriter, she swapped in the alt sprite that should have just replaced the old one. To fix the duplicate sprite I had edited the scml file manually to remove any reference to it, which worked fine except for this one animation. On a few frames, the object list showed a blank sprite in the Z-Order list and the head was remaining in place while the bone moved, so I swapped it for the sprite it should be and all is working properly.

In the future I will definitely avoid adding unnecessary and confusing pngs to the root of the animation folder.

Now to resave all the other animations and fix the event references and move the updated names into their appropriate folders for organization and make sure the new sprites are in the right families.
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 189

Post » Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:15 pm

Glad you figured it out!
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,874

Post » Tue Jul 01, 2014 8:18 pm

@lucid - it seems like "set opacity" function isn't working for my sprite families.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,874

Post » Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:49 pm

@PSI are you setting it every tick?
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Wed Jul 02, 2014 3:12 pm

@lucid - no, I had it set to trigger once.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,874

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anty21ro and 14 guests