Spriter/C2 update 11/2 bug fix for performance mode

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 14, 2014 3:04 am

winsonzhong wrote:Great update,and how long can we use all the pro features on c2 plugin?

I'm working on getting an update to the plugin out by Wednesday. It should be close to fully supporting all pro features, and depending on what's left, I can give an estimate of when you should expect the rest, though it shouldn't be over another week. This includes sub-entities, though I have to think about the ideal import process and run it by Ashley and see when he could update the c2 importer. Sub-Entities would still be useable in the meantime through a manual import process.

eli0s wrote:I was thinking that the finished version should install the corresponding Construct 2 plugin automatically upon Spriter's installation. This way there wont be any confusion upon upcoming updates, each newest version should setup the necessary files in Construct's installation folder and be ready to go.

We won't be able to do this as Spriter isn't exclusive to Construct 2. It can be made to work on any engine, or used for traditional frame by frame animation through exported pngs and gifs. Ashley and I have discussed the idea of the plugin getting bundled with C2 after the plugin and Spriter 1.0 are complete.

Also, I am not sure about the current state of .scml & .scon dependencies, but I think that a single file should be needed in order to import & update animations in a project between Spriter & C2.

This is a matter of if and when Ashley has a chance to change the importer to load from .scon instead of .scml. He has to prioritize what to spend time on, and there's still a feature or two that will be added to Spriter that will require additions to the importer. I will ask him what his plans are on switching the importer to .scon after those features are complete.

Ideally, saved changes on a Spriter's project should be transferred automatically within C2, and if not automatically, with a simple update or re-import button/right click command.

The automatic transfer would be impractical, and again Spriter isn't C2 or even Windows exclusive. I don't know know whether Ashley would want to add a right-click reimport command, but it's possible in a future version of Spriter I might be able to add an icon you can click and drag from Spriter into C2 that would reimport the currently open file. There's quite a bit on the todo list before we can think of implementing something like that though.

TGeorgeMihai wrote:Any approximate date when the plugin update will be available ?

See above. I aim to have sub-entities implemented within a week from this Wednesday.

sman118 wrote:Question: Is it possible to apply WebGL effects (tint, replace color) to only specific parts of a Spriter Character. For example, I build a character and only want to effect the PNG's that make up his shirt?

Yes. This will work if you just add the effect to the individual sprite(s). You can also use the effect actions and groups, to pick specific instances to activate the effects on.


Thanks for the kind words everyone!
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:55 am

is this plugin needed anymore, or does Construct 2 have integrated support for Spriter now?
B
12
S
2
Posts: 26
Reputation: 848

Post » Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:22 pm

lucid wrote:
eli0s wrote:I was thinking that the finished version should install the corresponding Construct 2 plugin automatically upon Spriter's installation. This way there wont be any confusion upon upcoming updates, each newest version should setup the necessary files in Construct's installation folder and be ready to go.

We won't be able to do this as Spriter isn't exclusive to Construct 2. It can be made to work on any engine, or used for traditional frame by frame animation through exported pngs and gifs. Ashley and I have discussed the idea of the plugin getting bundled with C2 after the plugin and Spriter 1.0 are complete.!


There are programs that target multiple software (like Trapcode's suites) and upon installation they detect which relative software the user has already installed in his/her system and give the option to install the appropriate files for each software. Granted, the example I am using is a plugin suite, but I was hoping that Spriter could install as a standalone software and during the installation process detect all (if any) of the relative programs that support importing the .scon files and offer the ability to setup the corresponding and up-to-date importers/plugins for each one of them.

lucid wrote:
Also, I am not sure about the current state of .scml & .scon dependencies, but I think that a single file should be needed in order to import & update animations in a project between Spriter & C2.

This is a matter of if and when Ashley has a chance to change the importer to load from .scon instead of .scml. He has to prioritize what to spend time on, and there's still a feature or two that will be added to Spriter that will require additions to the importer. I will ask him what his plans are on switching the importer to .scon after those features are complete.

Ideally, saved changes on a Spriter's project should be transferred automatically within C2, and if not automatically, with a simple update or re-import button/right click command.

The automatic transfer would be impractical, and again Spriter isn't C2 or even Windows exclusive. I don't know know whether Ashley would want to add a right-click reimport command, but it's possible in a future version of Spriter I might be able to add an icon you can click and drag from Spriter into C2 that would reimport the currently open file. There's quite a bit on the todo list before we can think of implementing something like that though.

So, if I understand this correctly, the importing method and the way C2 updates the changes on the .scon files are in essence things that Scrirra has to decide and implement, it's not to BrashMonkey's end..?

Thanks again for your time and answers!
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
53
S
21
G
3
Posts: 1,126
Reputation: 8,093

Post » Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:58 pm

birbilis wrote:is this plugin needed anymore, or does Construct 2 have integrated support for Spriter now?

eli0s wrote:There are programs that target multiple software (like Trapcode's suites) and upon installation they detect which relative software the user has already installed in his/her system and give the option to install the appropriate files for each software. Granted, the example I am using is a plugin suite, but I was hoping that Spriter could install as a standalone software and during the installation process detect all (if any) of the relative programs that support importing the .scon files and offer the ability to setup the corresponding and up-to-date importers/plugins for each one of them.

The plan is for the scml plugin to eventually be included with C2 as a standard plugin, which will solve the same issue, as any updates would be included with each C2 download.

We could consider automatic plugin installation at some point in the future, but something like this would be as complex to implement as some of the more powerful features and enhancements we're planning on adding in the near future, so it's not high on the priority list for the time being.

So, if I understand this correctly, the importing method and the way C2 updates the changes on the .scon files are in essence things that Scirra has to decide and implement, it's not to BrashMonkey's end..?

Ashley and I discuss the requirements of the import and the best way for the plugin and import process to work with C2's architecture, but it's up to me to prioritize and develop the plugin itself, and up to Ashley to prioritize and develop the part of C2 that manages the imports and reimports (everything that happens immediately after dropping an scml or scon file into a C2 layout). For the most part, since Ashley has such a nonstop stream of C2 updates and planned features, we try to consolidate anything needed for the import into less frequent, larger changes. Once I have the information he'll need to implement sub-entity imports and possibly deformable sprites, I'll bring up an exclusively .scon import again.

If there is still two required files for import by the time I'm done with everything planned for immediately after Spriter 1.0, I've been considering adding a file settings template feature in Spriter, so you can select Construct 2 as your target platform or any predefined custom option set you want to create and share. So for C2, this would automatically set all the save options, and cause every save to automatically save both the scml and scon versions, until/unless you deselected that template.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Oct 14, 2014 2:57 pm

@lucid , I am happy to read those lines, thank you very much for your work and for your answers!
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
53
S
21
G
3
Posts: 1,126
Reputation: 8,093

Post » Wed Oct 15, 2014 2:35 pm

@lucid Hoping this is an easy question and I'm sorry to bother you with it.

I uploaded an image sequence to use as reference for a walk cycle. Then I placed all of my parts on top of the beginning of the reference and added the skeleton. Problem is the different pieces of the character only appear for the first frame of the animation. Is there a way to extend their duration in the timeline? I think it has to do with Objects in the Palette window. It only shows the frames in the first column. Couldn't figure out how to copy and paste the them to the rest of the animation.

Thanks for the help.

-Ben
B
40
S
11
G
6
Posts: 228
Reputation: 6,946

Post » Wed Oct 15, 2014 2:48 pm

@sman118 Did you create and animate the skeleton before adding the sprites? Spriter lets you have sprites on some frames, even if you don't have them on all frames. Copy, and Paste to All Frames (edit menu or Ctrl-Shift-V) of just the sprites you're trying to move should fix the issue if you did add animations frames first and then add the sprites. Normally, it's best to fully assemble the character before animating it. Let me know if this helps fix your issue, and if not, feel free to email the zipped project folder (scml file, and all the images/subdirectories) to lucid@brashmonkey.com, and I can help you further.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:42 pm

@lucid My sequence was importing all of my images and folders. Then, I went to the folder with my "guide animation" and loaded in the image sequence (great addition by the way). Adding in the sequence created a keyframe at every frame. I then started building my character with the smaller pieces. For whatever reason, they only showed up on the first frame.

I was able to through and copy and paste the whole thing to each key frame one at a time. So I'm past the problem, but not sure if bringing my pieces in before importing and image sequences might be the best workflow.
B
40
S
11
G
6
Posts: 228
Reputation: 6,946

Post » Thu Oct 16, 2014 7:42 am

I haven't had the chance to test this extensively, but I will post back here when I do get a chance, and I'll also update the link in the original post. In the meantime, if anyone wanted to test out some of these new features.
plugin changelog 10/16/14
  • Added support for Spriter variables
  • Added support for Spriter tags
  • Added support for Spriter events

When I have a chance I'll make some tutorial videos, but now that these latest are implemented, the plugin is a lot more powerful. All 3 are Spriter Pro features, and allow you to do quite a wide array of behaviors. Use tags to designate parts of your animation to be 'unblockable' or 'go through projectiles'. Spawn a projectile exactly at the moment the recoil happens in your animation using a Spriter 'event'. Or use events to spawn a magical effect or particle burst at a precise moment in the animation. Use variables for anything from deciding what parameters to set to effects controlled and tweened through your Spriter animation, or use string variables to control the pacing of dialog boxes to go with your character's animated emoting. Much like variables, these tools add a wide variety of use cases to your arsenal. If anyone decides to test any of this out, again remember until further notice, these new features haven't been tested thoroughly in the plugin yet, so only use this for testing purposes for the time being. I expect to have sub-entities (the final pro feature for Spriter 1.0 left to implement in the plugin) by next Wednesday.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Thu Oct 16, 2014 9:22 pm

@lucid oh, I sooo much crave for tutorials on those subjects!!! :shock:
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
53
S
21
G
3
Posts: 1,126
Reputation: 8,093

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Aphrodite, Mirlas and 19 guests