Spriter/C2 update 11/2 bug fix for performance mode

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Dec 10, 2014 12:02 am

A really interesting idea which i'm not sure how difficult would be to implement is the possibility to import a png map/spritesheet and crop the parts inside Spriter. A neat feature that could save a lot of time.
B
10
S
2
Posts: 100
Reputation: 1,125

Post » Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:48 am

Hi @lucid,

I am hoping you can clarify what will be possible using one complete skeleton per character in future Spriter and C2 plugin releases. I have attached a .capx with a basic skeleton to illustrate what I am talking about.

At the moment to achieve the goals below I would need to split my skeleton into at least two parts. More splits will be needed if more character complexity is required in the future. Splitting is just not an acceptable solution.

I would like to be able to:
1) Animate "Legs" Block A with walk, run, walk/run blend, etc animations that are independent of the upper body.
2) Change the angle of the bone that "Torso" Block C pivots on at runtime to enable a mouse-aim type feature.
3) Animate "Arms" Block D with animations that are independent of the lower body so I can blend and change the speed of the animations without effecting the lower body animation speed.

Any insight on the points above and how they will work in C2 in the future would be greatly appreciated :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
32
S
11
Posts: 3
Reputation: 2,006

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 2:23 am

kraed wrote:A really interesting idea which i'm not sure how difficult would be to implement is the possibility to import a png map/spritesheet and crop the parts inside Spriter. A neat feature that could save a lot of time.
The pro version can currently import trimmed json spritesheets exported from TexturePacker. I'm not sure if that covers what you mean.

mullock wrote:Any insight on the points above and how they will work in C2 in the future would be greatly appreciated :)

You should be able to do all that as we get more and more support inside Spriter and the plugin for subentities. I know that's a bit of a vague answer, but I don't have ETAs for any of this yet, but that's one of the very things sub-entities were created for. In C2 it will either actually add additional scml objects for each sub-entity which will be controlled by the main scml object, but which you can override, or it will be one scml object where you can give animation commands through the main object. Probably the first one. Within Spriter we will expand on the sub-entity ui to make it easier to build and test compound characters like this.
Spriter Dev
B
88
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,486

Post » Thu Dec 11, 2014 3:14 am

lucid wrote:
mullock wrote:Any insight on the points above and how they will work in C2 in the future would be greatly appreciated :)

You should be able to do all that as we get more and more support inside Spriter and the plugin for subentities. I know that's a bit of a vague answer, but I don't have ETAs for any of this yet, but that's one of the very things sub-entities were created for. In C2 it will either actually add additional scml objects for each sub-entity which will be controlled by the main scml object, but which you can override, or it will be one scml object where you can give animation commands through the main object. Probably the first one. Within Spriter we will expand on the sub-entity ui to make it easier to build and test compound characters like this.


Thanks @lucid !
B
32
S
11
Posts: 3
Reputation: 2,006

Post » Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:16 am

Hello @lucid. SCML plugin stops triggering sound events (conditions) after the first restart of C2 layout.
It looks like anim.soundlines are not loaded when SCML object is created more then once (getCharacterFromPreload is used, no AJAX request is started on SCML instance creation).
anim.soundlines.length != 0 on the first creation and anim.soundlines.length == 0 on next creations (after C2 layout is reloaded).
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 181

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:03 am

Hi @lucid, I have a small bug to report. I deleted a .scml file from my C2 project and then tried to re-import an updated version of the animation (I am experimenting with performance optimizations and whether to use sprite sheet animations or spriter animations). Anyway, even though there were no remnants of the old .scml present in the C2 editor, I receive a warning that I am about to replace a file that already exists... When I clicked yes to confirm the replacement, I then received a message that the file cannot be found and the import had failed. I fixed this by opening up the .caproj file using Notepad++ and deleting the folder/file reference that was still there.
...busy learning Unity - real lights etc!
(but c2 is easily the quickest way to make 2d html5 games)!
B
60
S
15
G
51
Posts: 2,086
Reputation: 33,692

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:26 am

"append event at time "
Why each time edit the Key frames or event key that create a new key at timeline?
I don't think it's a good idea :o
e.g.while using speed curves
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
33
S
10
G
1
Posts: 78
Reputation: 3,119

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 8:49 pm

@ebatalov, @Colludium, and @winsonzhong
Thanks for the bug reports. I will look into all of this.
Spriter Dev
B
88
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,486

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:30 pm

Can you Point me in the Direction of A tutorial on how to Swap Body parts ? am i just supposed to change the associated sprite? @lucid
B
3
Posts: 1
Reputation: 177

Post » Sun Dec 21, 2014 2:11 am

Those advanced features are excellent and easy to use! Already using 2 of 3.
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,874

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GhoulishGames and 12 guests