Spriter/C2 update 11/2 bug fix for performance mode

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jun 25, 2015 3:07 pm

Hi Lucid,

Bought Spriter on the last day. Looking forward to making good use of it. Also waiting for construct to have a summer sale. :)
B
21
S
1
Posts: 40
Reputation: 908

Post » Thu Jun 25, 2015 4:07 pm

when can the plugin support deformation? We have been waiting for a loooooooong time !!!
B
33
S
10
G
1
Posts: 78
Reputation: 3,119

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:17 am

Hi Lucid,

I am having trouble with using character maps on import into c2. Here's a simple zip of a demo capx and scml to show you what my problem is. I'm not sure if it's a bug or if I have been trying to use a feature that's not supported by the plugin. When I import a scml into c2, the entities and their animations are accessible but the import action does not bring over the character map sprites. In the attached example, the import should bring in 3 red/green/blue squares, but it imports 3 red squares instead. I've been using r208 and v4.1 Spriter. Thanks!

Edit - it appears that the character map active settings weren't saved. I'm investigating....

Edit 2 - Confirmed - the active character map selection is not being saved in v4.1. On closing and re-opening Spriter, it reverts back.
...busy learning Unity - real lights etc!
(but c2 is easily the quickest way to make 2d html5 games)!
B
60
S
15
G
50
Posts: 2,086
Reputation: 33,192

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 2:04 am

winsonzhong wrote:when can the plugin support deformation? We have been waiting for a loooooooong time !!!

I can't give a good estimate at this time as I don't want to be wrong again. I will say that the reference implementation I'm still working on will be the basis for an improved c2 plugin that should run more smoothly and require less ram, and that will bring it one step closer toward having the deformation as well. The deformation in it's current state in Spriter is not at all what the final product will be like. I understand it's frustrating and I apologize for the many missed estimates, but we absolutely will have a far more polished deformation feature in Spriter, and support for it will come to c2. I will update when I have something more concrete.

Colludium wrote:Hi Lucid,

I am having trouble with using character maps on import into c2. Here's a simple zip of a demo capx and scml to show you what my problem is. I'm not sure if it's a bug or if I have been trying to use a feature that's not supported by the plugin. When I import a scml into c2, the entities and their animations are accessible but the import action does not bring over the character map sprites. In the attached example, the import should bring in 3 red/green/blue squares, but it imports 3 red squares instead. I've been using r208 and v4.1 Spriter. Thanks!

Edit - it appears that the character map active settings weren't saved. I'm investigating....

Edit 2 - Confirmed - the active character map selection is not being saved in v4.1. On closing and re-opening Spriter, it reverts back.

Character maps are made to be dynamically added, so you can change them at runtime. When you add an active character map in Spriter, you're previewing what it will look like to activate that character map at runtime. I edited your capx to apply one of the character maps. (Left click to apply the character map)
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 11:07 am

@lucid - thank you for that, it has fixed half of my problem! However, I am struggling to import the full Spriter project into c2 - when I try the character maps sprites are missing. As you can see from my example above, there are only 3 red sprites in the project, but for the character maps to function properly during run time the others should be imported as well. What did you do to enable the export of these extra sprites in your example? Thanks.

Edit: I suspect that I am missing something completely obvious here because you managed it. If I bake the character map to an entity (which creates an extra entity in Spriter) and then the import the scml into c2 then the import brings the extra sprite images as well so they become available during run time.

Edit 2. I guess that this is a public demonstration of my learning - I see that baking the character map to the entity is the way to go! If I do that then there is no problem here. I guess I have answered my own question.... Thanks for your great support!
...busy learning Unity - real lights etc!
(but c2 is easily the quickest way to make 2d html5 games)!
B
60
S
15
G
50
Posts: 2,086
Reputation: 33,192

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:39 pm

Colludium wrote:@lucid - thank you for that, it has fixed half of my problem! However, I am struggling to import the full Spriter project into c2 - when I try the character maps sprites are missing. As you can see from my example above, there are only 3 red sprites in the project, but for the character maps to function properly during run time the others should be imported as well. What did you do to enable the export of these extra sprites in your example? Thanks.

Edit: I suspect that I am missing something completely obvious here because you managed it. If I bake the character map to an entity (which creates an extra entity in Spriter) and then the import the scml into c2 then the import brings the extra sprite images as well so they become available during run time.

Edit 2. I guess that this is a public demonstration of my learning - I see that baking the character map to the entity is the way to go! If I do that then there is no problem here. I guess I have answered my own question.... Thanks for your great support!

I didn't reimport to fix the capx, or even open the project in Spriter. If you look at the capx I sent back, all I did was add an action to set the Entity (your first entity doesn't have a character map), and then on left click, append the character map.

Your Spriter project was already imported correctly. Character maps images are added to sprites for the original images. So if you have 'head.png', and you have a character map that changes 'head.png' into 'evilHead.png', then they will both be added to the same sprite in C2. Since the character map replaces the image, you will never need both 'head.png' and 'evilHead.png' at the same time on screen for the same character. Also, if you have an event 'on collision with Head', you don't have to write it twice for both of the versions of the head sprite.

I'm a little confused as to what you're trying to do, though. It seems like you just want a separate character as opposed to a character map. You can of course, use in other creative ways, but the most basic examples of usage would be to do things like make it so your character can get an armor or clothing pickup in game so you can actually see the character wearing the new outfit. Another example would be customize-able characters so you can change out body parts or the entire image set to make the characters look different from each other.

Baking the character map out makes the change permanent, so it's no longer a character map, and is now a separate character. Please let me know if this makes things more clear.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:56 pm

@lucid - It's all cleared up now. I was confused by the process because my brain doesn't function too well after 9pm :). Sorry to be a pain and thank you for your help!
...busy learning Unity - real lights etc!
(but c2 is easily the quickest way to make 2d html5 games)!
B
60
S
15
G
50
Posts: 2,086
Reputation: 33,192

Post » Mon Jun 29, 2015 6:05 pm

No trouble at all. Please feel free to ask whenever you have issues.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:12 pm

Can add opacity to properties not just setting on event? sometimes we need to use tween control opacity~ :)
B
33
S
10
G
1
Posts: 78
Reputation: 3,119

Post » Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:35 pm

hi @winsonzhong, You want to be able to set starting opacity in the properties pane, instead of just actions? I understood that part, but what do you mean that you need to use tween control opacity?
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests