Spriter/C2 update 11/2 bug fix for performance mode

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:13 pm

@winsonzhong
The good news is the reference implementation I was working on is finished, so I'm definitely closer to being able to update the plug-in again. The bad news is there's still a few things I must do first, including a long-overdue update build of Spriter itself. Once the new update build is out I should be able to get back into the C2 Spriter plug-in, but can't guarantee how soon this will be, or how long the improvements/fixes will take once I'm doing it. So, getting much closer, but not there yet. Thanks again very much for your patience.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:08 am

@lucid I was working on an animation and accidentally rotated the head art (not by the bones) and it made a keyframe. I tried to delete the key frame and it didn't work. I've since rotated other body parts and have been able to delete their keyframes as well as any bone keyframes. This one is just being stubborn. Not sure what could be causing the problem.

You can check out my file here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/561 ... priter.zip

Thanks for your help.

Ben
B
40
S
11
G
6
Posts: 228
Reputation: 6,951

Post » Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:32 am

@sman118, the issue was that the bone structure changed (the head was disconnected from the head bone after the first key). In order for the animation to work with reparenting, certain keyframes are automatically created. Not being able to delete those keys is a bug, though, and we will try to fix this in a future version. In the meantime, here's a fixed version of the file.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/257 ... e_000.scml

I just added the head to the neck bone in all mainline keys, and then deleting them would have worked, but I selected the head on the first key, and pressed control-D, which copies selected objects to all keys, and deletes any now unnecessary keys for the selected objects in one step.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Dec 01, 2015 5:47 pm

@lucid Thank you so much for looking into it. I save a base, template version of my characters so I was able to just redo the cycle, but i'll remember that for next time.

Anyone who wants to see a time lapse of my building and animating an enemy can click the on the picture below.

Image

@lucid While I was working, I was curious if there were any plans to update the curves editor on the keyframes to allow viewing of the entire timeline instead of a per-keyframe basis. I admittedly have no idea how you would implement that and am sure it is harder than I imagine. Its just a feature I've used a lot in other cut-out animation based programs and I found it helpful. Again, thanks for all of your help.

-Ben
NeedYourDisease
B
40
S
11
G
6
Posts: 228
Reputation: 6,951

Post » Wed Dec 02, 2015 4:10 pm

@sman118 , no immediate plans. It's possible in the future, but there's already a backlog of things at the moment, so I wouldn't venture when that might happen.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Sun Dec 06, 2015 5:55 pm

awesome progress on the exporter!

Are skin type deformations supported in the addon?
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 270
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Sun Dec 06, 2015 6:15 pm

I found a bug:
Image

using the grey guy template, after some playing around in spriter.
Here is the scml and scon files:
http://we.tl/X8VmljGVHh
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 270
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Sun Dec 06, 2015 7:19 pm

is it possible to apply the same animation to two different entities without the need to create a new copy of it?
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 270
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Sun Dec 06, 2015 8:23 pm

@blurymind the plugin doesn't support deformation yet. We will add that in when the deformation feature is complete. I believe that's the issue you're having with your file.

The upcoming version of Spriter will allow you to move an animation from one entity to another.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Sun Dec 06, 2015 8:37 pm

Hi @lucid - I was wondering, while the next version of Spriter is still in development, is there any plan to incorporate into it some weighted bone / motor joint options?
...busy learning Unity - real lights etc!
(but c2 is easily the quickest way to make 2d html5 games)!
B
60
S
15
G
50
Posts: 2,086
Reputation: 33,192

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artpunk and 11 guests