Spriter/C2 update 11/2 bug fix for performance mode

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Jan 22, 2016 7:51 am

Thanks for your hard work to continually support Spriter's integration in c2!
...busy learning Unity - real lights etc!
(but c2 is easily the quickest way to make 2d html5 games)!
B
60
S
15
G
50
Posts: 2,085
Reputation: 33,190

Post » Sat Jan 23, 2016 7:20 pm

Thanks @Colludium.

1/23/2016
  • Fixed a bug with action points, where the angle returned wouldn't compensate for flipped or mirrored entities
  • Fixed bugs that prevented sub-entities from displaying or animating properly

The process to import sub-entities is actually quite painless, but may look a little daunting at first:

For this example, we have an entity called 'TestEntity' that is using 'Player' as a sub-entity in the 'test' animation.
Image

Here is the initially imported scml object
Image

The first step after you've imported your project is to clone the scml object type, and rename it to something that makes sense (usually the name of the entity in Spriter). If you have multiple sub-entities or entities. You need a separate object for everything that will be a sub-entity. The initial import was already called 'Player', so I'm naming this one 'TestEntity'. This is also a good time to set your scml object to it's starting entity in the object properties.
Image

These were the initialization events automatically generated by the import:
Image

The first thing you do is create an initialization event for your other scml object. Then move all of the actions initializing objects that belong to that entity to this new initialization event. It's easy to tell which ones belong to the other entity because each object is prepended with the filename and the entity name. After you've moved over all of the actions. Select all the actions, right click 'Replace Object', and change the object from the original scml object to the correct one.
Image

And the final step is to look at the name of the sub-entity object in Spriter (by default it's named after the entity being used as a sub-entity)
Image

And create your own 'Associate object type' action for the object that will be the sub-entity to the containing entity, using the same naming convention:
Image


And that's it. When you play your project the sub-entity should be playing, and you can even control your sub-entity in real time using the new override actions.

Please let me know if you have any trouble following the instructions.

-cheers
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Sat Jan 23, 2016 9:00 pm

You are not joking about how daunting it seems at first.

I will see if I can test this feature in the coming month to offer feedback on how well it is done.

Anyway, good work since being able to use sub entities in theory will really help a lot in animations, especially in regards to characters, items, effects and clothing.
B
36
S
18
G
11
Posts: 248
Reputation: 8,694

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:48 am

2/22/2016
  • Added Set C2 Object To Spriter Object action to pin C2 Objects to Spriter objects (points, boxes, bones, sprites, points, sub-entities)
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:42 am

@lucid - this seems to be working great! I'm so pumped that you got this update out so quickly, I was totally not expecting that at all! this really changes a few of the things I had planned by far. thanks for constantly updating such an already excellent product. seriously. I really appreciate it!

I have a quick question about something I happened to notice while back before this update - some objects seem to be appearing in the upper left corner of the screen when they aren't being used. am I possibly doing something wrong with my animations? you can kind of see it here in this capture (I think it's actually related to the actual layout size - which happens to end to the left of the character):

Image

I think it might have something more to do with blending, since I currently don't blend any animations for the main character but I do for the boss here, and it seems to maybe be doing that between its different movement modes.

edit: I do want to point out that Spriter saved me literally hours of design while working on this boss that I was able to devote to making its behavior more awesome. Also, the wings and the body are separate Spriter elements altogether.
B
57
S
15
G
8
Posts: 365
Reputation: 7,884

Post » Thu Feb 25, 2016 4:20 pm

hi @mudmask. Thanks for the kind words, and the game looks great as well. Reminds me of Super-Metroid. Are all the parts we see on the left from the bee boss?
Strange things happen when blending between animations if they don't share the same exact hierarchy (bone parent and child relationships). The easiest way to check is to load up your project in Spriter, and click on the hierarchy tab (stacked with the zorder tab on the left), and switch between animations and see if you notice anything changing location.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:48 am

yeah i am curious like what KFII said, like it would be nice to know if you can add image points to scml and scon files
B
2
Posts: 6
Reputation: 160

Post » Thu Mar 03, 2016 7:46 pm

so is title entity box 000 suppose to represent the box where you add image points and behaviors?
B
2
Posts: 6
Reputation: 160

Post » Fri Mar 04, 2016 12:52 am

TheRedFireMan wrote:yeah i am curious like what KFII said, like it would be nice to know if you can add image points to scml and scon files


@TheRedFireMan, I'm a bit confused by your two questions. Could you please clarify?

You can add action points to scml and scon files, which can also be animated, attached to bones, and retrieved from C2. I'm not sure if that answers your question.

TheRedFireMan wrote:so is title entity box 000 suppose to represent the box where you add image points and behaviors?

Title entity box 000? Is there a tutorial you're referring to?
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Mon Mar 07, 2016 7:25 pm

lucid wrote:hi @mudmask. Thanks for the kind words, and the game looks great as well. Reminds me of Super-Metroid. Are all the parts we see on the left from the bee boss?
Strange things happen when blending between animations if they don't share the same exact hierarchy (bone parent and child relationships). The easiest way to check is to load up your project in Spriter, and click on the hierarchy tab (stacked with the zorder tab on the left), and switch between animations and see if you notice anything changing location.


Hey Lucid!

Thanks for that feedback, I've been looking at the hierarchy and it doesn't actually change for, say, the shooting animation... but I do have the head sprite changing at the different keyframes to simulate the mouth opening up. I might be wrong, but that's the point when I think I've noticed those sprites showing up - and they happen to be the previous sprite that was used in the previous keyframe if that makes sense (at least as far as I can tell). any way for me to tighten that up? am I maybe going about putting those different sprites in the wrong way?
B
57
S
15
G
8
Posts: 365
Reputation: 7,884

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests