Spriter/C2 update 11/2 bug fix for performance mode

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Apr 28, 2013 7:20 am

The ball is in @ludei's court for CocoonJS to work with Spriter, they need to add XML parsing I believe. I posted in the forum there to remind them it is needed. That's the only thing holding us back from using Spriter, it looks great.
B
13
S
4
G
3
Posts: 51
Reputation: 3,488

Post » Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:37 am

XML Parser

While I do indeed am fine with much of HTML5/JS technology. I find the wait for official mentality a little frustrating :( Not that I'm not doing it myself by using tools :D
B
87
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 14,834

Post » Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:47 am

I'm starting to mess with the Spriter plugin/application, and tbh it's a great tool, keep up the good work Lucid !Kyatric2013-04-29 01:28:07
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 7:09 pm

Lucid - Just got the announcement that a new version of Spriter is available (Edition b2). Will the current C2 plugin work with that? Also - It would be awesome if the next release of the plugin could display the first frame of the default animation (instead of the current ball of sprites.) This would prevent the Spriter objects from popping into place from the ball of sprites on layout load. I have been initializing Spriter objects off screen and bringing them in as a work around, but it would be awesome if they load in their first frame positions. PS - Spriter will be awesome. I just showed some work in progress to a fellow developer and her was like "WOW That animation is so smooth! How many frames is that?" and I just grinned and told him about Spriter.
B
11
S
3
G
1
Posts: 23
Reputation: 1,615

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 7:28 pm

Thanks Alisa (and Kyatric, though we already spoke in chat),
Yes, all future versions will work with the plugin. I'm going to work a way to fix the ball of sprites problem for the next public build, and forward the extra info to Ashley to implement it into the editor. I think I figured out a good way to do it without compromising the file format.

Also, very excited about the upcoming feature set. The rest of the features are the real game changers. Particularly the top secret 1.x featureset. Getting ahead of myself though.

Everyone please remember, if there's anything aside from the ball of sprites and reimporting issues, please report any bugs and feature wishlists.

PS: Just realize the typo with the thread topic name date: 4/25/1313. Talk about development hell. :)lucid2013-05-03 19:28:45
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 10:20 pm

@lucid outside of the ball of sprites issue, any word on collision boxes or telling where the current implementation will "touch" the ground? Currently some of my sprites seem to float above my solid tiles.

Also, any word on resizing methods in the C2 editor yet? Outside of scale it would be nice to be able to specify a height, etc... and have it scale to that size without trying to guess at scaling percentages...
B
49
S
11
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,418

Post » Sat May 04, 2013 4:36 pm

hi @BluePhaze. The solution to the ball of sprites will also solve the resizing thing. I have some major bugs to fix with copy paste, but I anticipate (this isn't written in stone yet), that I will do a hotfix for the copy paste bugs, and then Spriter b3 will have the collision boxes, and then I will update the plugin as well. Again there's too many variables for this to be a guarantee, but it's the basic roadmap.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Sat May 04, 2013 5:52 pm

@lucid Awesome, thanks! Yeah the copy/paste stuff is my biggest hurdle currently as well. My workflow is to make my idle animation, then copy keyframe and related objects and paste it in as the base for another animation. Seems to cause lots of fun issues.
B
49
S
11
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,418

Post » Tue May 07, 2013 11:39 am

Hello @lucid i've received an email about serial, i tried to put my different e-mail in another website and i couldn't retrieve a key.

Is normal?
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,054
Reputation: 22,642

Post » Tue May 07, 2013 2:10 pm

hi Joannesalfa,
please make sure you're using the email you purchased with, and if you're still not receiving a key email us at mail@brashmonkey.com and we will sort it out. Thanks.lucid2013-05-07 14:10:58
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TheRealDannyyy and 14 guests