Spriter/C2 update 11/2 bug fix for performance mode

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2013 7:36 am

Just purchased my copy, well worth the price. Can't wait to see how this progresses. Simple and very easy to control. It's cut my animation time down from what would take half a day to draw frame by frame to maybe an hour or two. Everyone should check the free version at least.
B
48
S
15
G
5
Posts: 183
Reputation: 8,476

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2013 1:06 pm

Yep, I bought my copy about 8 months ago and just got around to trying it yesterday. In one day I'd done the character art, created 5 animations very easily in Spriter, and started a Construct 2 project that can play those animations with key presses. Pretty awesome turnaround time for both C2 and Spriter, and definitely worth it for anyone doing 2D games.
B
9
S
2
G
3
Posts: 75
Reputation: 1,964

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2013 1:12 pm

@lucid is it possible to have an animation manager? (as the normal sprite) I just saw how to add behaviors and things like that to the animation using the object type, but to use it as a character I have to have a animation manager to change the animations according to the player's input.

thanks
B
13
S
2
Posts: 104
Reputation: 1,336

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:42 pm

Thanks everyone. I'm glad you're enjoying Spriter.

Arcgen, I'm not sure what you mean by animation manager. The scml object in C2 (which is automatically added when you import), can be used to set animations, playback speed, etc. Moving, rotating and scaling the scml object will move, rotate, and scale the entire character. Does this answer your question?
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:54 pm

I purchased Spriter about a week ago but have yet to use it, it's on the list of things TODO this weekend. Being an avid fan of 2D animation, the keyframe methodology makes perfect sense to me, and I'm quite anxious to give it a try.
B
12
S
5
Posts: 133
Reputation: 1,483

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:14 pm

@lucid , maybe I'm using it in a wrong way based on the normal sprite system. Per example. I have a character using the platform behavior. Can I have different spriter animations to use when the player moves, jumps, just stay on idle and things like that? How can I trigger the animations using the platform behavior? Is it possible? Do I need to have 1 spriter animation for character animation or I can animate the same spriter file to have many animations? (based on the monster example, it has just one animation. Is it possible to attach the hole animation in a single boundbox to use the platform behavior on the boundbox and the spriter animations attached on it?

Probably you have a better way to solve it. I just Want to know how can I use the spriter animations well using the platform behavior.
B
13
S
2
Posts: 104
Reputation: 1,336

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:29 pm

@arcgen - It works similar to a normal sprite. You can have multiple animations per Spriter file. You just call them through the event editor. Player jumps -> play animation "jump01" or whatever you named the animation. You can also attach the spriter object to a bounding box, and use the platform behavior on that box.
B
77
S
49
G
25
Posts: 346
Reputation: 17,409

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2013 6:32 pm

Humm! looks like it's working :D hehehe! Thanks man!
Are you using it in your game?

arcgen2013-08-16 18:56:49
B
13
S
2
Posts: 104
Reputation: 1,336

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2013 7:55 pm

@argen Yup. I'm a big fan of Spriter.
B
77
S
49
G
25
Posts: 346
Reputation: 17,409

Post » Sat Aug 17, 2013 8:35 am

Hi @lucid this is a great plugin, I read a few people had a problem and I'm having the same one, I can see all the animations on preview, but I'm not able to see it when I export it.

I'm not finding the solution to this probllem, please help! :)

thanks!!
B
8
Posts: 2
Reputation: 263

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests