Spriter/C2 update 11/2 bug fix for performance mode

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:51 pm

Hi @lucid,

I'm one of your early adopters =D

I'm wondering if Spriters is ready to be used for mobile games? and what you have to say about performance?
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
20
G
14
Posts: 1,218
Reputation: 19,502

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:11 am

Guys, btw any of you experience any problem when hosting your game to any of the game portals when using Spriter for animation in your game ?

How about other platforms ? Firefox OS ? Tizen ?

Some mime issues ?
B
52
S
18
G
13
Posts: 385
Reputation: 10,943

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:42 pm

[QUOTE=max1919] Hello everyone!
I'm currently working on my 1st game in construct.I imported scml file in construct and animation is working well.
Now I would like to make character with destroyable limbs and joint,
but I have no idea how to do that, and if is it even possible ...

So my question is - Is there any way to unpin or destroy one of characters sprites (limbs).

Thank you! [/QUOTE]
Hi max1919. Since all the images are in a group, destroying one, would destroy them all. I think the best way to do 'destruction' would be to have a private variable 'destroyed' defaulted to false, and when it's enabled always hide and disable collisions. In the future we can add features to abstract this and make it more automatic.

[QUOTE=Candescence] Hey, Lucid, when it comes to Spriter objects 'attached' to another object, I've noticed that the Spriter object still experiences some nasty 'drift' when the object it's attached to is moving, such as with a platform movement. This is actually kind of an issue, and while it's mainly a visual issue, it's still an issue that I'd really like to see fixed.

Example .capx[/QUOTE]


[QUOTE=MelVin] with example above I notice the spriter object does not scale until the playerbox is moved, has anyone else noticed it when spawning a spriter object?

I'm having a similar problem, I keep seeing a stack of parts when I first spawn my character, as he falls to the floor it rescales and positions correctly but for a brief second I see this mess of parts were the spriter object should be. Anyone have any fixes/workarounds for this?[/QUOTE]
I'll look into these as soon as I can. Closing up the next build of Spriter, and then it will be time to update the plugin and at that point, I'll also fix all the bugs. I plan to address the delay when spawning new scml objects as well. This is a problem with the implementation as it stands, but it's a limitation that can be fixed.


[QUOTE=OlivierC] Hi everyone, I haz a question. Sorry if this has already been discussed, I tried to read the whole thread but gave up after a few pages since it's mostly talking about fixing bugs.

I found about Spriter only recently (well, I have only used construct for a couple of weeks :P), really cool animation tool.

I'm not a big fan of the paper doll look, so I'm not planning on using it for character animation, I'd rather stay with the old school hand drawn style (however it can be useful to design walk cycles and export as a template to draw over). But I must admit being able to animate sprite with bones and IK has a lot of potential, not just for game makers, but as an animation tool as a whole.

In fact, that's what I'm more interested in. Coming from the 3d animation industry, the timeline and keyframes is really something I'm very familiar with and that I wish was present in some way in Construct.
See, I started working on an adventure point-n-click game, this is a long term project, not something I expect to complete in two weeks, coming along nicely and I'd really like to have some cut scenes at some point (if I get to that point). I found some interesting plugins which could be really helpful for that (liteTween, Timeline...), but when I saw spriter, I thought it would be a lot easier to design and animate cut scenes in it than in Construct (don't get me wrong, I love construct).

So the question is: Has anyone tried that yet? Create some cutscene animation in Spriter without worrying about events, just setting keyframes, import it in Consctruct, put it in it's own layout with nothing else, start the cutscene by simply going to that layout, let it play the animation and once completed, move to the next layout? Would that work?[/QUOTE]
You can definitely do this. Also, I'd like to point out that we at BrashMonkey don't like paperdoll animation either. Spriter was designed to not even require bones, and to be flexible enough that you aren't limited by the paper doll look. Our user tombmonkey has some great examples of animation that doesn't look paper dolly at all:




Also, not quite ready to tip our hand just yet, but some of the upcoming features will provide even more flexibility for organic looking animations


[QUOTE=TELLES0808] Hi @lucid,

I'm one of your early adopters =D

I'm wondering if Spriters is ready to be used for mobile games? and what you have to say about performance?[/QUOTE]
If you mean mobile games within C2, the next version will allow json export which should make it work with the cocoonjs. I won't know until the plugin is updated how it goes performance wise, but there's no reason it should be slower than a typical C2 mobile game, and for larger characters it may very well perform better.


[QUOTE=tumira] Guys, btw any of you experience any problem when hosting your game to any of the game portals when using Spriter for animation in your game ?

How about other platforms ? Firefox OS ? Tizen ?

Some mime issues ?[/QUOTE]
Are you having issues tumira?lucid2013-10-02 21:42:54
Spriter Dev
B
88
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,486

Post » Thu Oct 03, 2013 1:27 am

@lucid .Nope. But I was wondering if anybody faced any issues about hosting their game on a gaming portal. If nobody complains about this, then it is good news.
B
52
S
18
G
13
Posts: 385
Reputation: 10,943

Post » Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:50 pm

Lucid, will Spriter work on Tizen games made in C2?
B
17
S
4
G
4
Posts: 143
Reputation: 4,004

Post » Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:40 pm

Going to give this a go.

I have always wanted to make a fighting game.

This will make so i can do some really good dismemberment, without thousands of frames from blender.

Slice and dice in real time ++ physics!
B
28
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,940

Post » Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:02 pm

Is anyone experiencing a clip when transitioning from animation to animation?
So far I have four animations, Idle, Run, IdleToRun, RunToIdle. Idle and Run are meant to loop and the transition animations are meant to play once and then go into the next animation. For some reason the transition animations jump back to the first frame before switching to the next looping one. This causes one frame where the character looks very out of place. I was wondering if was an issue that was common and I'm just doing it wrong or something very obscure.
I have the platformer attached to an invisible box, this is what I'm using to trigger the animations. (ie, When moved -> play IdleToRun, When IdleToRun Finished -> Run, when stopped -> play RunToIdle, when RunToIdle finished -> play Idle)
Could someone help me out?
B
2
Posts: 6
Reputation: 162

Post » Fri Oct 04, 2013 7:09 am

Teaser for Spriter version B6:
[tube]LgJyiOyA3jc[/tube]
Spriter Dev
B
88
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,486

Post » Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:58 am

@lucid
Wow. Cant wait! Estimated ETA ?
B
52
S
18
G
13
Posts: 385
Reputation: 10,943

Post » Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:30 pm

If there is a teaser, probably in a week or two.

Lucid will show off new features possibly months before release. Teasers however are likely to be out sooner.

Even if B6 comes out. it's the plugin that we need. And we have never seen a B5 plugin that I noticed :(
B
87
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 14,834

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests