Spriter/C2 update 11/2 bug fix for performance mode

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:14 pm

how about the performance in cocoon?
i have around 10 enemies in my game, each one has 3 animations of 60 frames each.
exporting from spriter it goes around 5mb for each enemy.
if i can put only the pieces of each enemy and do the animation and for all the enemies it is only 1 mb.
that will give faster loading and download time i think.
please tell me if I'm wrong
B
16
S
3
G
1
Posts: 85
Reputation: 2,260

Post » Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:50 pm

It depends on how you export from Spriter. You may want to downsize your images if they are large. If they are much bigger in spriter and you end up having to resize them in C2, it may be better just to export them from spriter in the size you need them.
B
49
S
11
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,418

Post » Thu Feb 27, 2014 4:07 pm

the animation looks different than exported or inside spriter.
only the head of the monster, it has a little bit of movement, but when i play it on construct 2 through the spriter plugin its like the head is moving only in some frames..
everything is smooth except the head..
its like the monster body is 60 fps and the head is like 5 fps..
i dont know what can cause this..
B
16
S
3
G
1
Posts: 85
Reputation: 2,260

Post » Fri Feb 28, 2014 4:09 pm

MelVin wrote:I do have one question though, will there be a wiki/print tutorials for spriter in the future?MelVin2014-02-15 07:36:07

The help file within Spriter is the closest thing for now. After 1.0, we will definitely be updating documentation as well.
Roccinio wrote:hi lucid!
http://www.scirra.com/forum/trigger-onc ... 86899.html
is there a way to play scml animations for each instance without using the build in platform animation triggers?as you can read in my above post anything else than "trigger once" loops the animation to its first key frame and if i use it it only picks one instance.
please help

I'll take a look at this.
sman118 wrote:That looks great @lucid . I was wondering if there was going to be any way to lock a frame rate to the Spriter animations. If I remember correctly, the speed will depend on the strength of the computer running the game. I just really think there are huge possibilities for using Spriter for cut scenes and conversations between characters, but it would be too hard to line up the lip sync with the audio file without knowing the frame rate.

Not sure if that's a priority or not. Spriter looks pretty amazing already.

Thanks.

The framerate will depend on the speed of the system, but the playback speed should be the same, so this won't affect the time it takes for the animation to play, just how smoothly it plays. Also, the final version of the plugin, once I get the new plugin to Ashley, and he has a chance to update it, will let you trigger sound effects. I've tested it a little (the plugin is already ready for sound), and it seems promising, though I haven't tried anything as complicated as cutscenes. Also, a future version of Spriter will have the option of exporting to a framerate, which will speed up playback and performance in those cases, because there will be no tweening math at runtime.

Joannak wrote:This latest video made me purchase the Spriter. These features are definitely something I'll want to support.

PS: Is there any convenient way to make character not swap items on it's hands when facing/moving left? I know that at the moment this is done with simple mirroring the right facing animations and it looks somewhat kooky.

You would just have to create a separate animation for right and left facing animations.

C-7 wrote:
Roccinio wrote:why when using "pixel rounding on" my spriter animations during runtime, freak out and act weird?


Because the Spriter animations use sub-pixel movement and scaling. Pixel rounding forces things to exact pixels so the two are competing for where to place your objects.
Roccinio wrote:@C-7
thank you for your explanation.
but if don't use it then sometimes a small line appears between my tilemaps during run-time.
so on fixes tilemaps and kills spriter animations and off works the otherway around.
any suggestions on how to solve this?

This is correct. I haven't had a chance to check if there's a way to fix this yet, however, eventually(after 1.0) Spriter will have a pixel art friendly mode that won't allow subpixel movement. I suspect there will be a mathematical solution that will work before then, but very busy with all the basics, so I can't promise an ETA.

joelbelo wrote:how about the performance in cocoon?
i have around 10 enemies in my game, each one has 3 animations of 60 frames each.
exporting from spriter it goes around 5mb for each enemy.
if i can put only the pieces of each enemy and do the animation and for all the enemies it is only 1 mb.
that will give faster loading and download time i think.
please tell me if I'm wrong

BluePhaze wrote:It depends on how you export from Spriter. You may want to downsize your images if they are large. If they are much bigger in spriter and you end up having to resize them in C2, it may be better just to export them from spriter in the size you need them.

I suspect BluePhaze already answered your question, and not sure if this answers part of your question either, but the plugin will only load the file once per file, even if it's shared by several characters.

joelbelo wrote:the animation looks different than exported or inside spriter.
only the head of the monster, it has a little bit of movement, but when i play it on construct 2 through the spriter plugin its like the head is moving only in some frames..
everything is smooth except the head..
its like the monster body is 60 fps and the head is like 5 fps..
i dont know what can cause this..

I will have to take a look at this, but I'm not sure what you mean. The demo in the original post of this thread uses the monster file, and seems to play back ok, so maybe its a recent bug? Can you send me a capx?

Thanks for your patience everyone. Will try to get the updated plugin out this weekend. You'll still need to wait for an updated version of C2 and Spriter to use some of the features, but action points and animation blending will work fully.
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Sat Mar 01, 2014 5:29 am

@lucid

i have a request, can you make more tutorials on menu or gui animations with spriter? (Bouncing buttons, game titles and etc) would really help us on making good game gui.
B
51
S
18
G
13
Posts: 385
Reputation: 10,918

Post » Sat Mar 01, 2014 6:56 pm

@lucid i can send you the file, it seems like spriter plugin is doing a frame skip on certain parts of the animation that have very small movements
B
16
S
3
G
1
Posts: 85
Reputation: 2,260

Post » Sat Mar 01, 2014 6:57 pm

@tumira, I plan on it. No ETA on that yet. But the full featured Spriter/plugin will be able to make pretty elaborate menu systems with very few events.

@joelbelo, please do: lucid@brashmonkey.com
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Sun Mar 02, 2014 2:09 am

@lucid problem solved! i turned pixel rounding off and it works fine now.
thank you!
B
16
S
3
G
1
Posts: 85
Reputation: 2,260

Post » Sun Mar 02, 2014 2:41 am

BluePhaze wrote:It depends on how you export from Spriter. You may want to downsize your images if they are large. If they are much bigger in spriter and you end up having to resize them in C2, it may be better just to export them from spriter in the size you need them.


using the plugin is better for performance in cocoon? or its better to export?
B
16
S
3
G
1
Posts: 85
Reputation: 2,260

Post » Sun Mar 02, 2014 9:36 pm

I am not sure, for past games I have used the spriter export as png option and then just imported the frames into my animation.
B
49
S
11
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,418

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests