Sprites Disappearing / Reappearing in Editor Window

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:07 pm

Problem Description
Graphics disappear on certain layers at times. Impossible to work with. I initially noticed this in my own project and came to the forums looking for possible reports. I found this capX listed by another user describing the same issue i was seeing and when i opened the file, sure enough it does it for me as well.

This was not happening previously, it seems to have just started happening the other day, though a lot of my work lately has been with the actions/events and not the objects on the layout so it may very well have existed for some time just without me noticing since i wasnt manipulating objects for some time.

Some additional details:
1) It doesnt always *immediately* disappear sometimes i can drag around a bit before it actually disappears. I still appear to be dragging the object as I can see the outline, but the contents are invisible.

2) Closing and reopening the project does not restore the sprite. the sprite is missing /invisible when i restore the project.

3) Closing and reopening C2 will restore the sprite and I can see it again.

4) The point of the sprite disappearing seems unrelated to anything specific. Sometimes it disappears when overlapping other sprites, but sometimes it disappears when overlapping nothing at all

5) The bug seems specifically related to having SpriteFont objects on the layout. When i removed all instances of the sprite font object, it no longer occurred. I also have sprite font objects in my main project.

6) In my main project, it seems if I zoom out/zoom in i can find a 'sweet spot' where the disappeared objects reappear again. I can send that project for your review, but it's large... 125mb, though i think a good amount of that is audio so I can strip that out if it helps you.

Attach a Capx
Attached WHY.capx

Description of Capx
Simple project, with a simple picture and a sprite font.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
Open project
Drag red sprite in editor window

Observed Result
Sprite disappears, bounding box remains.

Expected Result
Sprite should not disappear

Affected Browsers
N/A

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 7 pro 64bit

Construct 2 Version ID
179
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:32 pm

Confirmed.
Interestingly, if you add another layer and move the 'gameover' sprite to the new layer, it reappears and will no longer disappear, at least for me.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,374
Reputation: 58,430

Post » Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:12 am

Just to confirm: I am also having this same issue within my project, using the same repro steps. I am on Version 178, and there are multiple sprite fonts in my project.

Within the same project, further to this, the bounding boxes are also disappearing at certain times, and re-appearing at others.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 61
Reputation: 588

Post » Sat Sep 20, 2014 4:33 pm

Can you reproduce, Ashley?
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Sat Sep 20, 2014 4:33 pm

the bug, i mean. not in general.
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Sat Sep 20, 2014 4:38 pm

80bit wrote:the bug, i mean. not in general.


I had to stop by and clap because that was golden, hahaha, :).
Founder of Jadelight Studio, Developer of Libertas Aedifex, regular C2 Help contributor and fan of ambient music and Star Wars.
B
12
S
4
Posts: 255
Reputation: 2,008

Post » Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:15 pm

I can't reproduce, I dragged the red sprite for a while and tried zooming in and out and it seems to work fine. It sounds like it might be a driver bug, are your graphics drivers fully up to date?
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
231
G
88
Posts: 24,367
Reputation: 193,684

Post » Mon Sep 22, 2014 5:10 pm

yup im 100% up to date. What platform(s) are you other guys/girls on?

Im running in Parallels / Windows 7 / Mac OS 10.9..
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Wed Sep 24, 2014 6:32 am

also want to note that this was not always a thing. same system was used on the same project for months and months, it wasnt until recently that it's been an issue... Checking 181 now to see if its still a thing..
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Post » Wed Sep 24, 2014 6:37 am

yup still a thing. brutal thing is i can even just click around on the layout -- clicking on 'nothing' ie empty space and the red square disappears all of a sudden - so literally nothing changing at all.. can close the file and it wont even ask to save...
Made Cosmochoria - www.cosmochoria.com
Currently working on Slayaway Camp - www.slayawaycamp.com
B
27
S
8
G
3
Posts: 384
Reputation: 5,020

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests