Start Menu and Loading Levels

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:21 am

Hi Guys,

I tried to search but couldn't find what I'm looking for.

I was curious how to do two things.

1) A simple start menu. It would contain 2-3 options. Start, About, and possibly 1 more (maybe Help or Controller Map)

2) I couldn't find a simple explanation about loading another level. For example, if you hit a warp portal or door or simply want to load into a different level (or, I guess in the case of question one, loading the actual game from the start menu "level").

If there's tutorials for either of these, that would be great.

Thanks! breravin2012-03-09 01:44:38
B
7
S
1
Posts: 24
Reputation: 935

Post » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:03 am

Hello breravin

Here is a post I made a while back that should help you with your start menu:

Making a Title Screen/Menu

And for loading another level you could do something like this on your event sheet:

+Player: On Collision With (warp portal)
   ->System: Go To Layout (What ever layout is your next level)


Wink2012-03-09 02:09:15
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:39 am

Awesome, thank you. I was searching for "start menu" so "title screen" didn't come up :)

Level loading: I figured it would be something like that, but I couldn't find it in the manual. I didn't realize you could load multiple layouts in that way. (yes, I'm very new to this :P)

edit: This post looks perfect, thanks again. I see now there were a lot of tutorials listed in the sticky that simply I missed! breravin2012-03-09 02:44:31
B
7
S
1
Posts: 24
Reputation: 935

Post » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:52 am

Your welcome breravin, and welcome to the Scirra forums
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:35 pm

Hi Wink,

Sorry, I'm just getting around to this tutorial. However, when I load the page, the tutorial is blank. There's probably something really obvious I'm missing, but I don't know what. I'm running firefox 10.0.2

Can anyone tell me what's going on?

breravin2012-03-12 19:36:15
B
7
S
1
Posts: 24
Reputation: 935

Post » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:48 pm

I found the original youtube link, so I'm good to go. Still a bit curious why it didn't load, but no big deal. :)
B
7
S
1
Posts: 24
Reputation: 935

Post » Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:09 pm

@breravin: indeed I confirm the same thing, but it works in chrome.
Since you have found the youtube channel, it is good, still I did some "report" of this "bug" in "Website issues", keep an eye on it.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gregorysforster, jeffige, Matthew de, onzephyr, Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests