Status of Fammilies

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:40 am

Heyah,
Its been a while since i posted here.
Anyway, my CC knowledge is not really up to date. Whats the status of Fammilies? Last time i checked they were incredibly buggy to the point where they could preety much screwe up your entire CAP.
I am asking because i am tempted to use them, but i dont want to get myself into another mess.
ImageImageImageImage
B
26
S
7
G
7
Posts: 572
Reputation: 6,097

Post » Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:05 am

Most of the problems were fixed, but you might want to refrain from deleting or renaming family variables, that was what caused problems when I was using them.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:28 am

hmm then how to get rid of the Vars if ive made an mistake? deleting the whole fammily?
And what sort of problems you encountered? Can you name them?
ImageImageImageImage
B
26
S
7
G
7
Posts: 572
Reputation: 6,097

Post » Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:15 pm

I left variables there and simply didn't use them. I can't remember what the problems were, but I recall the project becoming unstable and having to revert to an earlier version.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:59 am

Hmm. I see.
I am thinking about using Fam's for colision detections.
Basicly If Bullet Overlaps Enemy then > something happends
And as i have many enemies i though to group them with a Fam.
So instead of the above it would be like:
If Bullet overlaps Fam >then something

No actual Fam's related variables. Just using the Fams to wrap many objects into one category.

What do you think? in terms of safety.
ImageImageImageImage
B
26
S
7
G
7
Posts: 572
Reputation: 6,097

Post » Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:12 am

That's fine, I never had any problems doing that. Again, family variables should work fine if you don't delete or rename them.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:59 pm

[QUOTE=Arima] That's fine, I never had any problems doing that. Again, family variables should work fine if you don't delete or rename them.[/QUOTE]
Ahhhh how nice.
Thank you Arima :)
ImageImageImageImage
B
26
S
7
G
7
Posts: 572
Reputation: 6,097


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests