Steam Broken file association from Explorer launch

Report Construct 2 bugs here.

Post » Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:41 am

I just noticed my error, used c2_fix exe instead of start.bat. Sorry for the commotion ^^. Works like a charm as well.

edit: no, it doesn't (I tested it on another pc where it worked, but now back to the first PC it is still not working even when I use start.bat)mindfaQ2013-11-29 16:52:36
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
20
S
9
G
1
Posts: 785
Reputation: 3,725

Post » Tue Dec 24, 2013 7:35 pm

Try to use your Autohotkey script with my autoinstaller https://copy.com/Pa7BVNoYUw4Dbug_fixer2013-12-24 19:59:44
B
9
S
1
Posts: 17
Reputation: 459

Post » Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:17 am

Sorry for the terrible bump, figured it'd be better than opening a new one about it..

I purchased Construct 2 Personal Edition few days ago, and I'm encountering the same "open capx file" issue... While others reverted to using the non-steam edition, I can't do that, since I don't have a license file after purchasing it from Steam...

Any news about this issue?
B
16
S
6
G
1
Posts: 157
Reputation: 1,719

Post » Sat Feb 22, 2014 8:00 am

trueicecold wrote:Sorry for the terrible bump, figured it'd be better than opening a new one about it..

I purchased Construct 2 Personal Edition few days ago, and I'm encountering the same "open capx file" issue... While others reverted to using the non-steam edition, I can't do that, since I don't have a license file after purchasing it from Steam...

Any news about this issue?


There are a few work-a-rounds, but I don't see this issue being resolved by steam anytime soon. They pretty much said to me - they don't care.

I had endless issues with steam version over and above broken file association, and moved to the stand-alone version. Best thing that ever happened.

I also have since not purchased any software from steam based on my experience with them over issues. Games yes, software, never again.
B
61
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,474

Post » Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:18 am

DUTOIT wrote:I also have since not purchased any software from steam based on my experience with them over issues. Games yes, software, never again.

If Construct 2 had a way to self-update then I wouldn't even use Steam for software, but it makes it easier than reinstalling it every time they update it. Although, I'm sure there is a workaround you just need to program something to connect Steam apps with Windows, so that you can set the extensions properly.
B
20
S
4
Posts: 105
Reputation: 2,315

Post » Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:39 am

Helladen wrote:
DUTOIT wrote:I also have since not purchased any software from steam based on my experience with them over issues. Games yes, software, never again.

If Construct 2 had a way to self-update then I wouldn't even use Steam for software, but it makes it easier than reinstalling it every time they update it. Although, I'm sure there is a workaround you just need to program something to connect Steam apps with Windows, so that you can set the extensions properly.


Problem with steam auto updates and getting the beta version of construct 2 (because the beta is awesome new features) is that you also HAVE to use the beta version of steam which is riddled with bugs and breaks all my other purchases too. Like game crashing etc.
I like to wind down at night with some multiplayer games with friends.

I went from constant C2 crashes via steam to ZERO in standalone. The time it takes to update the standalone is minimual to the hours of crashes I endured with steam.

Yeah, I really don't like steam with software.

Games, its awesome, software its knocking on hells door.

As for work arounds. There are always ways to get round issues, but most times they cause there own undersired results.
B
61
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,474

Post » Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:15 pm

How did you move to standalone? I didn't get any serial number... can I ask the scirra team for a license?
B
16
S
6
G
1
Posts: 157
Reputation: 1,719

Post » Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:27 pm

trueicecold wrote:How did you move to standalone? I didn't get any serial number... can I ask the scirra team for a license?

Brought business license - using upgrade
B
61
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,474

Post » Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:43 pm

DUTOIT wrote:
trueicecold wrote:How did you move to standalone? I didn't get any serial number... can I ask the scirra team for a license?

Brought business license - using upgrade


Thanks, I don't need a business license, I only need a proper license file for my steam purchase... :/
B
16
S
6
G
1
Posts: 157
Reputation: 1,719

Post » Thu Feb 27, 2014 4:25 pm

Message: bug_fixer can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 2 URLS modified. Why?
trueicecold wrote:Sorry for the terrible bump, figured it'd be better than opening a new one about it..

I purchased Construct 2 Personal Edition few days ago, and I'm encountering the same "open capx file" issue... While others reverted to using the non-steam edition, I can't do that, since I don't have a license file after purchasing it from Steam...

Any news about this issue?

Try this fix https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArcQccElXI4ygQEELBNRuMH3gfRz
or this https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArcQccElXI4ygQJGvnIRgw3nKknk
Last edited by bug_fixer on Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:07 am, edited 3 times in total.
B
9
S
1
Posts: 17
Reputation: 459

PreviousNext

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MadSpy and 0 guests