Steam sale is now -33% discount !

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Nov 29, 2013 8:46 am

[QUOTE=DUTOIT] Be carefull of steam version. I almost turned grey over the authentication and how it caused a nightmare of issues. I eventually brought the business license from scirra and have uninstalled the steam version.

Oh, steam were very helpful in solving the issues. (The said they don't care - and I should seek help elsewhere) The issues are not C2 specific, it is in all there software. NOT games, software - huge difference. [/QUOTE]

To late for me. I allready got the steam version.

But i have been using free steam version from get go. And it does have its benefits - automatic updating being one of them.

Anyway I see Ashley is very active there. Answering almost daily to any problems.

So I hope the issues you had were just growing pains...
B
9
S
2
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 798

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 2:10 am

what's the diff btwn buying from steam and scirra?
i really hope scirra can giv us some Christmas offer coz i have missed out the previous discount campaign...

i jz know this baby 2 weeks ago and really like it.
Ashley possible to bring back the offer? ^^
B
6
S
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 457

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:46 am

@weilies :

If you buy it from steam, you have the same functionnalities as the website version, however...

the steam version is a steam program, meaning that you need to have steam launched, and that the licensing system is not done the same way (the steam version uses his own DRM I think), and steam support seems not that good in the case of C2 problems from what I've heard.

However, the steam version does automatic updates.

So, yeah, the functionnalities are the same, but the website version is less likely to have problems it seems. Between the two, I recommand the website one, except if the steam one is cheaper and you don't mind using steam with it.

I am sure other people will have a better opinion on the subject
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:06 am

Thanks Aphrodite

I hope the developer hear us.
I don't wanna signup steam jz bcoz of steam :(

Thinking to get from official site for next promotion :)
For the time being, jz stick with FREE
B
6
S
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 457

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:17 am

@weilies,

From get go, you can't open more than one instance of software. You can't have two separate projects open. For example I have to monitors. i can't have one open in one monitor the other open in another monitor.

You can't open any projects via the windows explorer window. So .capx won't open C2 because steam breaks the file association. You will have to manually open C2, click file menu, then open, then browse to desired file etc.

My experience: You won't be able to close C2 - you will have to use task manager to force shutdown.
You will have to shut down C2 every couple hours of use, else it becomes unstable and crashes. (something about the cache becoming corrupted)

And a long list that I was told was completely unrelated to C2 steam, but completely disappeared since I switched to scirra version. Funny hey.

Trust me software is worth it, and worth the extra price buying from scirra.

You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,718

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:17 am

@weilies,

From get go, you can't open more than one instance of software. You can't have two separate projects open. For example I have to monitors. i can't have one open in one monitor the other open in another monitor.

Dont blame steam because CS2 doesnt let you to detach window. You are opening two instances of CS2 in order to emulate it. Which is not good, anyway. And most of todays software will not allow this.

You can't open any projects via the windows explorer window. So .capx won't open C2 because steam breaks the file association. You will have to manually open C2, click file menu, then open, then browse to desired file etc.

True. But drag and drop works

My experience: You won't be able to close C2 - you will have to use task manager to force shutdown.
You will have to shut down C2 every couple hours of use, else it becomes unstable and crashes. (something about the cache becoming corrupted)

Fixed

And a long list that I was told was completely unrelated to C2 steam, but completely disappeared since I switched to scirra version. Funny hey.

Trust me software is worth it, and worth the extra price buying from scirra.

You dont know if Scirra will discount CS2 personal.
"A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush"


Punxel2013-11-30 10:18:04
B
9
S
2
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 798

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 11:14 am

[QUOTE=Punxel] @weilies,
Dont blame steam because CS2 doesnt let you
[/QUOTE]
C2 does allow, steam doesn't and that is the point. Inferior user experience for same piece of software. Blame is justified.
[QUOTE=Punxel] @weilies,
You are opening two instances of CS2 in order to emulate it. Which is not good, anyway.
[/QUOTE]
Why not? lol, nothing wrong with it, I do it all the time with multiple softwares with ZERO issues over last decade. As long as your machine can handle the extra load - then no problem at all.
[QUOTE=Punxel]
And most of todays software will not allow this.

[/QUOTE]
Lol, of course you can open multiple instances of today's software. The tab interface is slowly taking over from launching a new instance. Which is fine because you just drag the tab out to launch a new instance.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,718

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 12:09 pm

If C2 allows you to drag windows to another screen. Than why are you opening another instance of the program ?

I dont know which software are you using. But none of newer software doesn't allow multiple instances.

Try opening two instances of Unity
B
9
S
2
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 798

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 1:03 pm

@DUTOIT:

Well there is a workaround for opening .capx, so it is not a big problem for people that know about it.

I can run two instances:
http://666kb.com/i/cjp4cglwol6p0id7z.jpg

No stability issues either.
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 788
Reputation: 3,788

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 2:06 pm

after post by DUTOIT - will wait for SCIRRA discount also
B
2
S
1
Posts: 5
Reputation: 310

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AndreasR, Niespor and 6 guests