Still crashing on exit

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:22 pm

R104-107 still has the same problem.whenever i try to exit construct 2 it hangs and windows states that there's an unknown error with construct 2.It does this randomly.I have win 7 Ultimate ,64 bit edition.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:29 pm

Yeah, i am getting the closing the app crash as well. Windows 7 64bit
B
50
S
11
G
7
Posts: 274
Reputation: 8,146

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:29 pm

It is very difficult to do anything about this without a reliable way to reproduce it. Does it happen every time? Does it only happen after you've done certain things in Construct 2?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:11 pm

The crash does not happen too often.If i close my project before i exit construct 2 it exit's normally.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:29 pm

I used to get it but not anymore. Could do with maybe checking if it's the free version or the payed version only to narrow it down? The reason I say this is the free version closes differently than the payed with a 'nag' screen displayed before you can close it.

Mine is the free version.vandinz2012-10-17 21:30:23
B
19
S
5
G
4
Posts: 208
Reputation: 3,960

Post » Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:46 am

I don't think it's related to free or paid version.

When it happens to me, most of the time I've had the gimp opened and had worked for several hours.
C2 will close the project, and will "freeze" with no kind of message.
And if I go the task manager, then on display of the manager appears the default window message "C2 has stopped working".

No way to recreate it reliably though, also once windows applies some changes to the exe (?) it doesn't seem to fail again.

Win 7 pro 64 bits.

I still believe it's some unstability/uncompatibility between the QT library of Gimp and C2's GUI library.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:45 am

I have the paid version btw.And it seems to do this randomly.Whether there are other apps open or not ,it still does this.I always disable my antivirus before i run any game making apps or games.I am using the paid version off AVG antivirus ,maybe it's the antivirus not playing nice with construct 2?.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

Post » Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:49 am

[QUOTE=Kyatric]C2 will close the project, and will "freeze" with no kind of message.
And if I go the task manager, then on display of the manager appears the default window message "C2 has stopped working".
[/QUOTE]

Same with me, it happens to me randomly maybe 70% of the time. It feels like its time based, if you don't do much and close C2 it will be fine but once you've been using it for ages it will stop working on exit.alspal2012-10-18 08:07:07
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:22 pm

@Ashley Will a log file off the error be helpful for tracking down the bug?.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

Post » Sun Oct 21, 2012 3:28 pm

@DravenX - which log file do you mean? (Construct 2 doesn't write one) If it's a Windows error log, it probably won't be useful, but might be worth posting anyway...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest