Straight question: Is Construct suitable for a big project?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:27 pm

Honestly, if you're going to do anything 3D, even if its 2.5D, you should probably use something else. Construct's 3D is quite limited. It doesn't even have basic lighting. While technically you could make your own 3D engine with events, it's overly complex and wouldn't run as fast as other options like unity would.

You seem to sound a bit comforted by what we said, and maybe in particular from what I said. Maybe a bit too comforted. I don't mean to leave you with the impression that what I mentioned is the only issue I face with my game - it's simply the only one I haven't managed to find some way to work around. Some of them are easy to avoid, like the or condition which causes crashes, or the layout object which among other things doesn't register left clicks. Some of them are a lot weirder, like I have an old event that crashes the IDE if I try to move it in the event sheet (though I can deactivate it) and a layout I can't use without my game going haywire - easy enough to work around by making another layout and not using the bugged one, but seriously distressing until I figured out how to work around it. One of my event sheets with 5000 events takes 10 minutes to open due to some weirdness (though I have an old processor, which certainly contributes, but it shouldn't take that long regardless as a newer event sheet with 1000 events only takes a few seconds to load).

Then again, I also started this project 2 1/2 years ago, so a lot of the bugs that I face have already been fixed.

I feel somewhat nervous about what I said before actually, because it seems it's kind of hard to predict what quirks might arise for a user, and I really don't want anyone to risk financial ruin based upon my experience alone, because there is one user I know who has encountered a showstopper, though he's the only person I know of who has encountered that particular problem. Because of that, and how unpredictable construct's quirks can be, I don't feel comfortable recommending anyone risk their financial future on the chance they might encounter something they can't work around. Perhaps I'm being overly cautious, but I really, REALLY don't want you to encounter something that forces you to scrap your project and lose a lot of money, especially from my advice.

What I'm trying to say is, can you? Most likely. Will you encounter quirks that you can work around? Almost undoubtedly. Will you encounter a showstopper? Probably not.

But risking a business on a probably not probably isn't the best idea.

Again, I feel much more comfortable recommending you wait for construct 2 instead. It's far, far more stable than construct classic was at this point in its development, therefore there's much, much less risk of quirky weirdness, and it'll also help you in the long run for porting to different platforms. It's a much better business decision.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:42 am

The problem with waiting for Construct 2 is that you could be waiting years before it gets all the functionality you need from Construct classic.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,766
Reputation: 19,190

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:27 am

At the rate they're going I would guess that it will take considerably less time.

Think of CC as just the prototype :). Ash and Davo have already done this once, they have a much clearer idea how to do things now.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:44 pm

Depending on your Computer, another thing that gets annoying are the long loading times in big projects. It can sometime take up to 2 Minutes untill I can preview anything. From what I know, once you previewed your game once, the next time It will go alot faster until you change a sprite, then the time needed to preview the project is resetted. (I'm no Construct Wizard, maybe I am doing something wrong, but I witnissed this more than once now)

That being said, I personally think that once you know what you're doing in Construct you are able to make a big project. The mentioned "Showstoppers" occured here aswell (mostly because of my GTX 420) but I always found a workaround and could continue. One just needs to know how live with those quirks. Don't try to work against them, but work with them. :D

So in short, I think it's stable enough for a big sized project. You just need to prepare for some additional work because of long loading times and possible quirks.
B
3
G
2
Posts: 67
Reputation: 809

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:14 pm

Yeah, a way to reduce the preview times is to load large static images like backgrounds at runtime via the 'load frame from file' sprite action instead. That helps a lot, it reduced my compiling time by like 2/5ths. You're correct, it does cache the graphics, so the second preview is faster until you edit an image again.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:23 pm

[quote="Arima":1tu7odff]Honestly, if you're going to do anything 3D, even if its 2.5D, you should probably use something else. Construct's 3D is quite limited. It doesn't even have basic lighting. While technically you could make your own 3D engine with events, it's overly complex and wouldn't run as fast as other options like unity would.

You seem to sound a bit comforted by what we said, and maybe in particular from what I said. Maybe a bit too comforted. I don't mean to leave you with the impression that what I mentioned is the only issue I face with my game - it's simply the only one I haven't managed to find some way to work around. Some of them are easy to avoid, like the or condition which causes crashes, or the layout object which among other things doesn't register left clicks. Some of them are a lot weirder, like I have an old event that crashes the IDE if I try to move it in the event sheet (though I can deactivate it) and a layout I can't use without my game going haywire - easy enough to work around by making another layout and not using the bugged one, but seriously distressing until I figured out how to work around it. One of my event sheets with 5000 events takes 10 minutes to open due to some weirdness (though I have an old processor, which certainly contributes, but it shouldn't take that long regardless as a newer event sheet with 1000 events only takes a few seconds to load).

Then again, I also started this project 2 1/2 years ago, so a lot of the bugs that I face have already been fixed.

I feel somewhat nervous about what I said before actually, because it seems it's kind of hard to predict what quirks might arise for a user, and I really don't want anyone to risk financial ruin based upon my experience alone, because there is one user I know who has encountered a showstopper, though he's the only person I know of who has encountered that particular problem. Because of that, and how unpredictable construct's quirks can be, I don't feel comfortable recommending anyone risk their financial future on the chance they might encounter something they can't work around. Perhaps I'm being overly cautious, but I really, REALLY don't want you to encounter something that forces you to scrap your project and lose a lot of money, especially from my advice.

What I'm trying to say is, can you? Most likely. Will you encounter quirks that you can work around? Almost undoubtedly. Will you encounter a showstopper? Probably not.

But risking a business on a probably not probably isn't the best idea.

Again, I feel much more comfortable recommending you wait for construct 2 instead. It's far, far more stable than construct classic was at this point in its development, therefore there's much, much less risk of quirky weirdness, and it'll also help you in the long run for porting to different platforms. It's a much better business decision.[/quote:1tu7odff]

Thanks mate, I really apreciate your concern. No worries, I am getting a general view that is more or less suitable and with separate tests and getting everything working before adding into the main build, you could get an stable game.

I'd wish to wait to Construct 2, but we are ready to go. Perhaps we could build a prototype using Classic and jump into Constrct 2 once it's done. Game assets will be re-usable, so, in the worst case, only we would lose time on coding.

Thanks everyone else for the comments, I'll take into consideration all of them :)
B
1
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 433

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:49 pm

Quirk alert: if you're talking about copying and pasting between .caps, that's an unfinished feature and can seriously mess up a .cap. Keep it all in one .cap (aside from backups, obviously), and use a different layout for your development testing instead (or use a different .cap for anything you don't care about having to recreate).
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:46 pm

You will hear differing opinions from person to person, but Construct Classic is quite capable of large projects. Even more so if you know a little C++ and want to get your hands dirty in the SDK.
B
5
S
2
G
5
Posts: 221
Reputation: 2,272

Post » Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:30 pm

If you have a GTX 400/500 (possibly others?) GPU, there's a bug which messes up textures when they're loaded/set in the image editor. It is usually just non-power-of-2 textures, but I've seen it happen to power-of-2 ones as well.
B
2
S
2
G
2
Posts: 372
Reputation: 1,794

Post » Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:23 pm

[quote="Arima":84n9ji07]Quirk alert: if you're talking about copying and pasting between .caps, that's an unfinished feature and can seriously mess up a .cap. Keep it all in one .cap (aside from backups, obviously), and use a different layout for your development testing instead (or use a different .cap for anything you don't care about having to recreate).[/quote:84n9ji07]

Oh, great tip. Thanks for sharing!

[quote="Arsonide":84n9ji07]You will hear differing opinions from person to person, but Construct Classic is quite capable of large projects. Even more so if you know a little C++ and want to get your hands dirty in the SDK.[/quote:84n9ji07]

I have not considered this option. I have been programming on C++ since 2003 so could be a good idea to see what's really going on the SDK (and share the results)

[quote="Mr Wolf":84n9ji07]If you have a GTX 400/500 (possibly others?) GPU, there's a bug which messes up textures when they're loaded/set in the image editor. It is usually just non-power-of-2 textures, but I've seen it happen to power-of-2 ones as well.[/quote:84n9ji07]

Thanks. Luckily (?) I have a GTS 250 and haven't seen that problem so far. The only issue I get is, when I tick on Motion Blur, on app properties, game crashes when exits. Motion blur appears correctly though.
B
1
G
1
Posts: 4
Reputation: 433

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests