Struggling with right choice of resolution

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:54 am

Hello,

Just wondering.. it is possible to change WindowSize on startup ? I am struggling with "the right choice of resolution" for a pixel art game to target desktop. I wanted to have many options for the user. At first i wanted to go 1280x720.. but then that won't scale if the user go fullscreen (offcourse because it must be integer), i tried crop.. but i have a nightmare time to make the HUD fellow the viewport when scaled 1x, 2x and 3x.

Any ideas of suggestions ?

Thanks!Rushino2013-12-22 06:55:43
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 190
Reputation: 2,489

Post » Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:55 am

Master the positioing of HUD stuff because desing for 1 resolution or using letterbox is a silly compromise to make when theres so many different types of screens.
B
149
S
75
G
20
Posts: 1,791
Reputation: 22,695

Post » Sun Dec 22, 2013 12:52 pm

Then again, making something that looks slightly distorted is better than trying to cope with frustrating limitations and ending up not creating anything at all. Why can't we just have a "stretch" mode, anyone?
B
10
S
1
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,436

Post » Sun Dec 22, 2013 1:36 pm

Stretching with no regard to scale/proportion is a sin.
B
149
S
75
G
20
Posts: 1,791
Reputation: 22,695

Post » Sun Dec 22, 2013 2:59 pm

You can supposedly change the window size with the System > Set canvas size action.

Also mess around with the fullscreen scaling options in your properties.
B
25
S
6
G
3
Posts: 197
Reputation: 3,355

Post » Sun Dec 22, 2013 3:22 pm

[QUOTE=alspal] Master the positioing of HUD stuff because desing for 1 resolution or using letterbox is a silly compromise to make when theres so many different types of screens.[/QUOTE]

I agree too. However, its not that easy lol i tried to find a guideline and no issues. Maybe i should continue this way..

[QUOTE=Stiivais] Then again, making something that looks slightly distorted is better than trying to cope with frustrating limitations and ending up not creating anything at all. Why can't we just have a "stretch" mode, anyone?[/QUOTE]

I don't really agree. My game is a pixel art game and to be honest if its not scalling (by integer) its a nightmare visually.

[QUOTE=alspal] Stretching with no regard to scale/proportion is a sin.[/QUOTE]

I agree..

[QUOTE=TwinTails] You can supposedly change the window size with the System > Set canvas size action.
Also mess around with the fullscreen scaling options in your properties.[/QUOTE]

Tried already. What change is not the windows size..
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 190
Reputation: 2,489

Post » Sun Dec 22, 2013 4:10 pm

We need to have the ability to set the Window Size at runtime as part of an Event->System->Set Window Size.

I can't see why it shouldn't be possible for this to be made a feature.
B
10
S
2
Posts: 26
Reputation: 922

Post » Sun Dec 22, 2013 4:12 pm

I agree with you too.. this would solve a lots of problems.
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 190
Reputation: 2,489

Post » Sun Dec 22, 2013 5:48 pm

I agree that Set Window Size as an action would be very useful

Also stretching like sqiddster suggested in his last post here and the possibility to apply a hqx shader would be great

Both of these options would solve a lots of problems regarding different resolutions TGeorgeMihai2013-12-22 17:50:07
B
49
S
15
G
6
Posts: 534
Reputation: 7,195

Post » Sun Dec 22, 2013 5:51 pm

I fixed my problem with Crop mode and HUD positionning. Was really challenging but ended up with a solution that can adjust stuff automatically. The idea is spotting Viewport variable change then reposition the whole stuff.
B
16
S
5
G
1
Posts: 190
Reputation: 2,489

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests