Stuck in a Jumpthru

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:57 pm

Link to .capx file (required!):
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/20666790/Bug-report/jumpthru-bug.capx

Steps to reproduce:
1. walk left
2. fall into the jumpthru from the side

Observed result:
at the moment you enter the jumpthru you get stuck in midair.
in the .capx it is just a bit but in my current project the effect is annoyingly strong (see below)

Expected result:
while passing a jumpthru keep the trajectory

Browsers affected:
Chrome: yes
Firefox: yes
Internet Explorer: yes

Operating system & service pack:
    win7
Construct 2 version:
    119 64bit
----------------------------------------------

RBTV2013-02-20 15:33:47
B
9
S
2
G
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 937

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:03 am

I can't currently open it as I am at work, but are you using a collision rectangle or the sprites default collision polygon? If the default, the issue may be that it changes shape during the animations which can cause objects to get stuck inside of other ones...
B
49
S
11
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,428

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:35 am

my animated sprite is pinned to an invisible rectangular platformer object and the jumpthru also has just slightly moved rectangular collisions.
im not sure if it was well-worded ...the player don't keeps sticking in the other object it is more like jumping through a block of water if you know what i mean.

the attached .capx file is just a different arranged platformer template even if the effect is much harder to see in the .capx it is there
so it shouldn't be a problem with my code or collisions.
B
9
S
2
G
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 937

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:01 pm

I don't think we can fix this. But the workaround is really simple. Don't create huge jump-thrus, just make them a thin bar along the top. There's no point making it any taller than that!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:05 pm

i have these large collision boxes because i use the same sprites as solids to minimize the download size ...is there any way to give a sprite different behaviors? so that the user just has to download 1 png ..but it is used as a solid with lage collison and as a jump-thru with small collisions.

anyway thanks for the help its a great piece of software
B
9
S
2
G
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 937

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:27 pm

New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:12 pm

Thanks for your reply but this is the same way I did it, only with instance variables instead of the height but they are both still using the same collision.
Just thought there would be a better way

but I think I can live with it :P just wanted you guys to know about this bug.

Thanks everyone.
B
9
S
2
G
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 937


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kenthria and 1 guest