StuffGEN - object maker, made with C2

Show us your works in progress and request feedback

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 5:11 pm

A few more things.

First, I restarted and since then I haven't been able to reproduce the z order not changing on first click thing. Maybe that was just a glitch?

Second, I accidentally pressed control r (which I'm guessing is reset?) rather then control y when I wanted to do a redo. After the reset I wasn't about to use control z or anything to get the project back. Maybe do an autosave before completing the reset or a confirm reset dialogue or something?

Third, have you added the option to add the black outline around the sets of parts like you did in that robot post a while back?
B
62
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 36,021

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:42 pm

Burvey wrote:Nice! I've been waiting to get my hands on this. :) Here are some observations right off the back. First, it looks much better now then before. The grid is much better this way as are the guide points. I like how the zoom works and for me the not being centered thing isn't a big deal (at least not yet). Here are some issues that I've come across so far. I'm sure you're aware of some of them already.

Yes I am, hence the "early" version, but it's always great to get detailed feedback and then I can double-check/prioritize things.

Burvey wrote:I'm still getting the distorted hue issue in the purple range.

Yeah, I read around a bit, seems like there are known fixes for it, but my error report was treated like "Oh, well, that's just how it is". R0J0 made a different effect, but it doesn't work at all on my machine... Hopefully in time it will be fixed.

Burvey wrote:When I try to change the z order one at a time, I have to press the t or b button twice the first time before the objects will start moving.

It's important to keep in mind that the ZOrder is global, so if another object is over this one, but way off to a side it still counts. But I see this may have changed already.

Burvey wrote:Importing your interceptorx.sgen file causes a bunch of catastrophic issues. The buttons don't work as expected anymore. For example, pressing S will attempt to download a file rather then moving the objects. Basically I think that for some reason the program thinks that the control key is pressed when it's not.

I suspect this has to do with the javascript command that simulates clicking the file loading button. I'll look into it.

Burvey wrote:Using the control keys is a bit awkward after not using them for so long. Maybe it's something that I just need to get used to. I understand that you're trying to make it more universal so new users will know the keys right away. It just makes things slightly harder to do then before. For example to copy and mirror an object before was very quick as I could just press c, m and I was done. Now I have to press control c, control v, and m. Like I said, not a huge issue and I'm sure it's something I'll get used to.

Yeah, I think C is coming back. For now Ctrl+D for "Duplicate" does what it did.

Burvey wrote:This may not be an issue at all once your pallet option is introduced, but it might be a good idea to make your color swatches smaller and add them into the same area with the menu. That would make the workspace a bit bigger.

It will be smaller for sure, but also I just got this silly idea of manipulating the UI just like the parts - pick it and move/scale it as needed.

Burvey wrote:Also, since there are buttons next to the text parts in the menu, I was expecting a mouse click on them to activate, but they don't seem to. I have to do the keyboard shortcut even though it seems like if I were to click on it the operation should be completed.

Hmm, they should all work... Perhaps try hard refreshing the link.

Burvey wrote:Overall great update. I'll be playing around with it and let you know if anything else pops up.

Kinda like it myself, to be honest :D But more to come, more to come.

Burvey wrote:Second, I accidentally pressed control r (which I'm guessing is reset?) rather then control y when I wanted to do a redo. After the reset I wasn't about to use control z or anything to get the project back. Maybe do an autosave before completing the reset or a confirm reset dialogue or something?

I suspect it's a system command for refresh, this combo isn't used anywhere (and if it isn't it's not intercepted, so then system commands work).

Burvey wrote:Third, have you added the option to add the black outline around the sets of parts like you did in that robot post a while back?

Not yet, since in it's current form it's a single-use thing - of little practical use. But it's coming.

Thanks for all that feedback Burvey, enjoy the new version.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 6,146

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:05 pm

First off, I'm still seeing the HSL glitches mentioned previous by other users. Only seeing it on certain colors. It persists after export as well. My graphics are intel HD4000, so that might be part of the problem. Anyway, here's an example of what I am seeing:

ColorShiftIssue_1.png


While I'm here, I'd just like to say this about Stuffgen:

As a designer first/artist last, this is insanely helpful for me when prototyping, as I tend to get hung up on art and lose my flow sometimes. I can always get something passable, but since I'm just not very efficient in that area, I lose precious time worrying about dev art details that are often meaningless in the context of a brainstorming session.

Stuffgen is brilliant for this, as I can work up a bunch of temp sprites in no time, and get back into events and programming, which is generally where my real ideas are anyway. With the way things are progressing, I could even see using some of these sprites in a real game.

So...thanks @Somebody. For preserving my brain. In a totally cool, non-mad-scientist sort of way. :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:29 pm

This isn't necessarily a feature request but just throwing an idea out there. It would be really cool if we could load in an image either at the bottom of the order with the grid or an opaque version on top that we could use as a guide in "Stuff Generation". For example, I can take my sketches and scan them into the computer, load them up in StuffGen and be able to use it right on the screen as a guide to which shapes to use.

Also, I want to second what @TiAm said above about StuffGen being an insanely helpful tool!
B
62
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 36,021

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:30 pm

TiAm wrote:First off, I'm still seeing the HSL glitches mentioned previous by other users. Only seeing it on certain colors. It persists after export as well. My graphics are intel HD4000, so that might be part of the problem.

Since the official answer was a "meh" our best hope is a new, fixed HSL effect. My knowledge of shaders is good enough to open the files and maybe tinker with something, but way lacking to actually adapt something. Will have to keep looking...

TiAm wrote:While I'm here, I'd just like to say this about Stuffgen:

As a designer first/artist last, this is insanely helpful for me when prototyping, as I tend to get hung up on art and lose my flow sometimes. I can always get something passable, but since I'm just not very efficient in that area, I lose precious time worrying about dev art details that are often meaningless in the context of a brainstorming session.

Stuffgen is brilliant for this, as I can work up a bunch of temp sprites in no time, and get back into events and programming, which is generally where my real ideas are anyway. With the way things are progressing, I could even see using some of these sprites in a real game.

So...thanks @Somebody. For preserving my brain. In a totally cool, non-mad-scientist sort of way. :D


This is awesome to hear, since it was my initial idea for making this thing. Now I see that with some training some rather decent real sprites are possible so all these extra features are coming in, but for quick temp sprites it's one to beat.

Burvey wrote:This isn't necessarily a feature request but just throwing an idea out there. It would be really cool if we could load in an image either at the bottom of the order with the grid or an opaque version on top that we could use as a guide in "Stuff Generation". For example, I can take my sketches and scan them into the computer, load them up in StuffGen and be able to use it right on the screen as a guide to which shapes to use.

I have been thinking about this - quite likely to be implemented once I get better acquainted with image file loading and such.

Burvey wrote:Also, I want to second what @TiAm said above about StuffGen being an insanely helpful tool!

Never gets old, I'm glad people enjoy it as much as I do!
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 6,146

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:19 pm

@Somebody
@Burvey

For me, being able to use ctrl-c ctrl-v etc is a gift.
especialy when switching applications allot it keeps my basic workflow streamlined.
Instead of needing to think, "why isnt stuffgen copy & pasting?" When pressing the ctrl combo.

Im all for progress, but as game developers fast multitasking is key, which means basic key layout the same across applications is a gift rather than a wall to bump into.
B
59
S
21
G
14
Posts: 779
Reputation: 13,927

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:45 pm

@Savvy001 yep, I completely agree with you, and since I have found out that control D duplicates things have been a breeze in that regard.
B
62
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 36,021

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:53 pm

I've been working on trying to make some pseudo 3d boxes/cubes etc. Having a rhombus or parallelogram shape and a trapezoid shape would do wonders! I tried making them with the triangles but they just wont match up correctly. I was able to come up with an open treasure chest that I think is pretty darn cool though.
example23.png

example24.png
example24small.png



Also, @Somebody You may already know this as well but I came across another bug. Opacity levels aren't being exported with the png files.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
62
S
20
G
56
Posts: 1,077
Reputation: 36,021

Post » Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:35 pm

Level 999 of creativity lol. Really nice.

You could create a mobile game using this approach. Would be amazing.
B
56
S
21
G
3
Posts: 602
Reputation: 6,612

Post » Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:13 pm

Wow, very cool. This makes it much easier to create something.

-Gleison
B
12
S
2
G
1
Posts: 38
Reputation: 784

PreviousNext

Return to Works in Progress/Feedback Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests